11 Reviews

I think this could be good with some adjustments as mentioned by others. We too found this to be bland. I cut the recipe in half and we found after 40 mins it was still a little under cooked even though it sat out for 1 1/2 hrs. before cooking. On 1/3 of the casserole I added cinnamon, 1/3 was left as given and the other 1/3 I added apricot preserves. The cinnamon section was the best, but still needed more cinnamon and something more I'm not sure what. I actually think maybe the cream cheese needs to be blended with a little sugar and vanilla, but then the recipe would be a little more time consuming. Has anyone tried strawberry cream cheese?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starweaver September 07, 2009

I don't want to do stars since I made a lot of changes, but it didn't really work for me. I halved it like so many suggested, but 6 eggs was too many because after 40min it was very brown on top but still kinda soggy-gross. I also kept 1/3 cup syrup and ADDED cinnamon and vanilla but still found this very bland!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS May 28, 2009

Well recieved. I used 8- 10 slices of bread( too much!- it rises reallly high, which I didn't expect- so I just kept adding past the six slice mark...), 8 eggs( too much), 6 oz of cream cheese ( about right for me). So this recipe was sort of halved by me, and I will do it differently next time, but still really good. Cinnamon is a must. I also needed to bake it for almost an hour in an 8 in square pan in the toaster oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fawnzie April 28, 2009

Love this! I sort of halved the recipe. I used an 8in square pan with 6 slices bread and 8 eggs. I, like gert still used 1/3 cup of syrup to obtain sweetness. Thinking of french toast made me also add cinnamon and I'm so glad I did! This was very simple to throw together and DH put it in the oven this morning. However, he baked it for 40 mins and still found the center liquidy so baked it another 10. DH wasn't fond of the cream cheese center either, but DD and I loved it. I think next time I will make it in individule servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 October 05, 2008

I enjoyed this recipe. I cut it in half and baked in an 8X8 casserole dish. I used 6 pieces of cubed bread and 7 eggs. I used one pkg. of cream cheese and about 1 1/4 cups of milk. I did use 1/3 cup of maple syrup to get more sweetness based on previous reviews. DH didn't care for the cream cheese center and I liked it but would use less next time. Thanks so much for sharing. Prepared for PAC Fall/2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 September 23, 2008

I loved this! As suggested by 2Bleu, I added some powdered sugar on top as well as sprinkling some brown sugar on top of the cream cheese layer. This is delicious! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 27, 2008

This was really good and simple to prep. I made 2 individual servings and only chilled for a few hours. Upon tasting, it needed more sweetening so I topped it with powdered sugar but next time I would sprinkle some brown sugar on top of the cream cheese layer. I also added some chopped pecans on top before baking. Great flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu August 18, 2008

Very similar to a recipe that we often make for sunday brunch. We use slices of french bread instead of the bread cubes. Simple and delicious. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allybee Z September 27, 2007

This is a great breakfast casserole. It makes such a nice change from the same old egg and bacon/sausage ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl November 28, 2006

Simple recipe to put together and delicious to eat. I used maple bread and honey walnut cream cheese. Served with warm maple syrup. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel November 13, 2006
Overnight French Toast Cream Cheese Casserole