77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Leta, this is a FABULOUS make-ahead breakfast dish! So easy and so tasty. I had guests over for breakfast and I served this dish along with my breakfast casserole and fresh fruit. What an easy way to serve a group of people. I had to make copies of your French Toast Casserole for everyone!!! This is surely a dish I will make over and over again. I also made a hard copy of it and it is now in my "keeper" notebook. I'm so glad I found this. Thanks for sharing. :-)rn

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 07, 2002

My family ate the whole dish! This was a huge success. The only thing I might do different is reduce the amount of sugar. I will be making this again soon.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy D October 21, 2002

We had this for our Christmas brunch and it was gobbled up in a hurry. I doubled the recipe because of the number of people we had, and everyone loved it. I will certainly be using this again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in California December 29, 2002

Five stars for a delicious breakfast dish that is easy to prepare ahead (which I love). This is a great make ahead dish that turned out moist,sweet, cinnamony and everyone raved over it! I used the thick texas toast bread and increased the eggs by one. It is soooo good.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue December 26, 2002

I made this for a breakfast potluck at the office and after baking it I cut the the bread slices half to be able to serve more people. I also used thick sliced bread (Texas Toast). Everyone loved it and I was asked for the recipe several times. I plan on making this for my family during the holidays. It is so easy to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Young November 24, 2002

When I came across your recipe, I couldn't wait until we had a "family breakfast," so I made it in the morning for supper that night!! DELICIOUS!!! I set syrup out but nobody even used it. This dish stands well enough on it's own!! Thanks for the great recipe :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae October 16, 2002

This deserves way more than 5 stars. I didn't bother measuring or melting the margarine, just spread a little on the bottom of each of the bottom slices. I made 1 1/2 x the recipe but used the amount of milk called for in the recipe, made 3 layers instead of 2, and added a tsp vanilla. Baked covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 15 min. AWESOME! I thought it tasted like bread pudding, my son thought it tasted like cinnamon rolls. I had mine with honey, my hubby and son used maple syrup. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 September 07, 2010

My son loves this stuff! He's 7 and really picky too. It had good flavor and was certainly easy to prepare, but it was more soggy in the middle that I would have preferred. If anyone can help me solve that, I'd appreciate the help. Next time I'll try fewer eggs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley2 April 29, 2003

This is my go-to recipe for when we have company or my children have friends sleep over. So easy and so good! I've made it with whole wheat bread and replaced half of the eggs with egg whites and it's still delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheMcMahons December 24, 2010

This was so yummy this morning for Easter breakfast! It was so nice to take it out of the fridge and put it in the oven. The house smelled so good that my teenagers were at the table before it was finished baking! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal April 05, 2010
Overnight French Toast Casserole