Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Overnight Eggnog Baked French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Overnight Eggnog Baked French Toast

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2001

      Mmmm, French toast and egg nog: two great tastes that taste great together. Baking is easier than frying and you use less fat, which helps make up for the fat that there is egg nog in the mix. Really great. Easy. It was a perfect Christmas breakfast. Used a jelly roll pan and the loaf soaked up all the sauce overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2002

      This is a very delicious dish. I made a similar dish like this- it was very good. Try this-instead of syrup, make hot cranberry sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      This was a fantastic treat. I have actually made it twice. The first time I used Texas toast, I myself didn't care for it, everyone else loved it. The second time I used French Bread and it was SUPERB!! Will make often in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Yum! I made this for Christmas morning breakfast, and everyone loved it. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Excellent easy breakfast. I popped it in the oven and made a fresh fruit salad and bacon while it was baking. We enjoyed this over the holidays and I'm sure it will become a tradition in our home.The aroma of it baking got my teenagers out of bed and that is really saying something. Thanks Bergy for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      Oh yum! I made this for Thanksgiving morning and we all loved it. The only change was that instead of French bread I used brown sugar cinnamon bread (from Pepperidge Farm) and did two layers since the bread is not an inch thick. With the leftover batter, I soaked some more bread in it and then baked it in my waffle iron, which is how I usually make my French toast (French toat waffles). This is such a delicious recipe. We're planning on making it for Christmas breakfast also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Made some in Pyrex and others in non-stick jelly roll pan. Pyrex ones came out perfectly!!! The other pan was a complete mess but fit more pieces on it. Was a little intimidated by 7 eggs but the bread did soak it all up--again better job in the glass 9x13 pan. House smelled yummy and it wasn't overly sweet. Used light drizzle of maple syrup tho' the hot cran sauce sounds good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      1) You can't use regular thin sliced bread with this. I used a whole loaf of Pepperidge farm cinnamon raisin bread. 2) Would only recommend using french bread or maybe texas toast. 3) It wouldn't all fit in the pan so I stacked slices after dipping in the batter. Would NOT recommend stacking slices! 4) Even though I used a whole loaf of that bread I should have used more bread since there was almost 1/2 of batter left this morning swimming in the pan before baking it. 5) Perhaps I should have cut or torn the slices to fit better in the pan. 6) I was confused over the butter. Had it been the last item in the ingredient list it would make more sense. Instead I melted the butter when I first started to make this and poured it in the bottom of the pan before putting the bread in. Turns out this was unnecessary and added calories. 7) The end result was too sweet with syrup and the eggnog flavor wasn't very strong. Husband couldn't tell it was eggnog french toast. Will not make this recipe again but might try other eggnog recipes. Will throw the rest of this dish in the trash. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This was wonderful, Bergy! Loved the eggnog flavor, and it was so nice to have it ready to bake the next morning. I used a heavy half-sheet pan to fit all the slices in a single layer (you don't want to stack them), baked in a convection oven (reduced temp to 425), and also slid a pan of bacon in. I included the optional rum (Bacardi Gold), but skipped serving with butter. It was fantastic with just the warm maple syrup (Canadian, of course ;) ) and crisp bacon. We loved it--thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I gave this recipe 4 stars. This is very good tasting. My family really enjoyed this recipe. I loved the fact that I was able to pop this right in the oven right in the morning and in 25 minutes breakfast was ready with no fuss. Even my picky 9 yr old niece liked this french toast. When I made this I didn't have rum on hand so I left it out. My only complaint was how much of a custard type dish this was, but I'm not crazy over custard. Overall I will make this again for sure! Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Made this dish for Christmas brunch and everyone loved it, especially my 9 year-old daughter! Only thing was there was still alot of batter left in the pan, but it did not cause a problem when baking it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Very easy, convenient and had great flavor. I missed the crispiness that comes with pan fried french toast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      This is a holiday family favorite now! Made it last year for Christmas brunch and will be making it this year again, people are already commenting how much they're looking forward to it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      this was pretty good, but, in my mind the purpose of baked french toast is to throw it in the oven and be done. you really do have to flip it over so both sides are on the top...i won't be making this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I've been pulling recipes from 'Zaar for several years now, but this is my first review. THIS IS SINFULLY GOOD!!! I've made it 3 times now for holiday breakfast when family is here. Didn't use rum. Didn't top with anything but powdered sugar. Used Sherri35's suggestion of Brown Sugar Cinnamon Bread (Sara Lee). Baked in a 9x13 Pyrex dish. Used ALL the liquid with no problem whatsoever. This is such a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was delicious; however I do agree with mamadelogan, my bread didn't soak up the eggnog by the the next morning. So thanks to her post, I made sure that I wiped off the remainder nog, put it in a jelly roll pan and placed it in the oven for 15 min. at 450. That was enough time for my toast to get really brown on the bottom and nice and tan up top. I did make sure that I flipped the pieces over after 13 min. so they wouldn't burn. Also there was a lot of liquid and mixture left over, so I am out to buy more bread and make the recipe all week, I may try this recipe in a conventional oven at work and feed some of my gal pals because at 418 calories a piece, I don't need to eat too much of it... : 0

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      These were tasty, but I did have problems with the execution. I cut the loaf of French bread into 1" slice as written but all slices did not fit into my 9x13 Pyrex glass dish, so I had to use a jelly roll pan so they would all fit. I poured the reaming mixture on top (which was a lot) and the bread didn’t absorb all of it in the morning. I baked the French toast exactly as directed and since the bread didn’t absorb all the liquid it ended up burning and all the toast stuck to the pan and burned. I managed to salvage a few piece for my husband and I. My husband asked if I had made Cajun style French toast (ha-ha). Despite it being mostly burned I could still taste that it had a good flavor. I didn’t have rum so I used Amaretto and I used 1tsp of pumpkin spice. I think next time I will cut the batter amount in half and just dip, fry and bake them in 350 to get them cooked all the way through as I usually do. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      I made this for Christmas morning and it was a hit. It was very easy and had a nice flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      My husband loved this recipe, but it was a little to sweet for me. Maybe I should have left the syrup off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Yummy stuff you've got here, Bergy! I served this for my yearly Christmas brunch and wish I'd made more--everyone loved it, as did I. I also loved how easy it is to prepare. I think that next time I'll cut the bread into 1 inch cubes, toss in the mixture, and then dump it all into the baking dish. I had too little bread and too much egg mix this time, and doing this might allow me to fit more bread into the pan. But I'm not going to change or add a thing to the ingredients--it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Overnight Eggnog Baked French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.3
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    50%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 287.2 mg
    95%
    Sodium 251.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.8 g
    75%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes