Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Overnight Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2009

      This was so yummy! And I love the "overnight" part. I added a teaspoon of almond extract and followed another reviewer and used half whole wheat pastry flour and half applesauce for the butter. I added 1/2 cup of frozen cranberries to half the batter and really liked that (I think fresh blueberries would be great too). We don't like things too sweet, so I cut out a 1/4 cup of the sugar from the cake. It was still sweet, but in a good way. I do think I will cut a couple more tablespoons out of the topping next time though. We really loved this, especially the convenience and the topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I followed this recipe almost to the t, with one exception: the mix method. I creamed my unmelted butter with my sugars then added my eggs one at a time and then added my buttermilk. I whisked my dry ingredients together in another bowl then added then into my wet ingredients. The resulting cake was incredibly soft, light and fluffy. It was a smashing success. I didn't think it was overly sweet but I had it with strong black coffee. Super convenient when you've got guests and I love that you can make fresh baked coffee cake evenwith a hangover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Great recipe! I used the plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk and it was perfect. I did use the higher amount of sugar for the topping, and think I'll use less next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      have same recipe as marg 1 teaspoon nutmeg in topping also cream better and sugar dont melt butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I was not a fan of this cake. I still gave it a 4 because my husband took it to work and the guys there all liked it. It was also very moist which I liked but the flavor was a bit too eggy and bland. It might also be the brown sugar I am using. I am in finland and their brown sugar does taste a little different so that might be the flaw in my recipe. It was super easy to make. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      While my guests enjoyed the cake a lot, I thought it was just so-so. It was very very sweet. In fact, other than sugary, I found it lacking in depth of flavor. With less effort, I could have enjoyed a biscuit-mix coffee cake just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      BOY OH BOY is this ever good:) Lots of flavor and very moist. This will certainly become one of our family favorites. Did not refrigerate overnight. Thanks so much LorenLou for sharing this delicious recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      yum yum! all of our family got together for labor day... we had breakfast at my grandmas house and i made this! so simple and scrumptious! i will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      This was so good! I made some substitutions to try to make it a little better for you and it still turned out wonderful. I used whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 the butter called for, and 1/2 applesauce. I also used fat free yogurt and 4 egg whites in place of the eggs. I was running out of brown sugar so, for the cake, I used unrefined cane sugar. For the topping I used 1 cup white sugar mixed with 2 tbsp. molasses. I also used almonds as my nuts. I did put the topping on right before I baked it, but it sunk deep into the cake. Not the prettiest coffee cake I've ever made, but one of the tastiest. Thanks for a treat the kids made for their dad who is recovering from surgery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      Yummy! I made this over the weekend at my son's request for coffeecake. He was in heaven. The topping sort of creeped into the middle of the cake so I might try sprinkling that on right before baking as Marg suggested. It was very moist and delicious though. We all enjoyed it. I halved the recipe and made it in an 8 by 8 square pan. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      It is so nice to have a freshly-baked coffeecake in the morning without having to get up early to make it! I've also sent this with the kids when they've spent the night with their grandparents. Since my mom doesn't bake anymore this lets them all enjoy a warm fresh coffeecake together. My recipe calls for 1 cup white sugar and 2/3 cup butter but I doubt it makes much difference. I prefer to put the topping on right before I bake the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Overnight Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.5
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    28%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 36.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 361.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 31.2 g
    124%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites