12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so yummy! And I love the "overnight" part. I added a teaspoon of almond extract and followed another reviewer and used half whole wheat pastry flour and half applesauce for the butter. I added 1/2 cup of frozen cranberries to half the batter and really liked that (I think fresh blueberries would be great too). We don't like things too sweet, so I cut out a 1/4 cup of the sugar from the cake. It was still sweet, but in a good way. I do think I will cut a couple more tablespoons out of the topping next time though. We really loved this, especially the convenience and the topping!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 26, 2009

I followed this recipe almost to the t, with one exception: the mix method. I creamed my unmelted butter with my sugars then added my eggs one at a time and then added my buttermilk. I whisked my dry ingredients together in another bowl then added then into my wet ingredients. The resulting cake was incredibly soft, light and fluffy. It was a smashing success. I didn't think it was overly sweet but I had it with strong black coffee. Super convenient when you've got guests and I love that you can make fresh baked coffee cake evenwith a hangover.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PDXChef January 15, 2010

Great recipe! I used the plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk and it was perfect. I did use the higher amount of sugar for the topping, and think I'll use less next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre April 19, 2010

have same recipe as marg 1 teaspoon nutmeg in topping also cream better and sugar dont melt butter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. December 09, 2008

I was not a fan of this cake. I still gave it a 4 because my husband took it to work and the guys there all liked it. It was also very moist which I liked but the flavor was a bit too eggy and bland. It might also be the brown sugar I am using. I am in finland and their brown sugar does taste a little different so that might be the flaw in my recipe. It was super easy to make. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin August 04, 2008

While my guests enjoyed the cake a lot, I thought it was just so-so. It was very very sweet. In fact, other than sugary, I found it lacking in depth of flavor. With less effort, I could have enjoyed a biscuit-mix coffee cake just as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurawithcats August 03, 2008

BOY OH BOY is this ever good:) Lots of flavor and very moist. This will certainly become one of our family favorites. Did not refrigerate overnight. Thanks so much LorenLou for sharing this delicious recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick February 16, 2008

yum yum! all of our family got together for labor day... we had breakfast at my grandmas house and i made this! so simple and scrumptious! i will definately make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly September 09, 2005

This was so good! I made some substitutions to try to make it a little better for you and it still turned out wonderful. I used whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 the butter called for, and 1/2 applesauce. I also used fat free yogurt and 4 egg whites in place of the eggs. I was running out of brown sugar so, for the cake, I used unrefined cane sugar. For the topping I used 1 cup white sugar mixed with 2 tbsp. molasses. I also used almonds as my nuts. I did put the topping on right before I baked it, but it sunk deep into the cake. Not the prettiest coffee cake I've ever made, but one of the tastiest. Thanks for a treat the kids made for their dad who is recovering from surgery!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 20, 2005

Yummy! I made this over the weekend at my son's request for coffeecake. He was in heaven. The topping sort of creeped into the middle of the cake so I might try sprinkling that on right before baking as Marg suggested. It was very moist and delicious though. We all enjoyed it. I halved the recipe and made it in an 8 by 8 square pan. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer May 02, 2005
Overnight Coffee Cake