15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A++++++!!! This deserves 10 stars. I halved the recipe and made it for 2 people and they both said it tasted better than the restaurant they always eat at. I did not have the monterey jack so I just added extra swiss and cheddar. I used garlic and butter flavored croutons. Since I made it the night before all the croutons soaked in the egg and added extreme flavor. I added some chopped green peppers to the top. This will become a defenite keeper. This would be good to make for church brunches or breakfast. Thank you so much Jess for the recipe!!! Highly recommend trying this and you wont be dissappointed!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 January 26, 2009

Mmmmm - good stuff! I used all cheddar and pepper jack and left out the swiss cheese. I loved the use of the herbed croutons instead of just bread cubes. This is easy to make and delicious - thanks for posting the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof January 09, 2009

I love this easy recipe. I made a few alterations the second time around. I only used 1/2 lb of sausage and cut the cheese down to 2 cups ( 1 pkg) of a mexican blend. This recipe makes great leftovers for a quick breakfast throughout the week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maxwelltrenton April 25, 2009

Very yummy! Even my picky kids ate it and asked for more. It didn't say, but I'm guessing that you're supposed to uncover it before baking. Because I had mine covered for the first 50 minutes, and then the eggs were still runny. So I uncovered it, and then had to bake it for another 30 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teraberb March 10, 2009

Made this for my co-workers. They loved it. Said it was the best they had. I changed one thing. I used hot sausage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janepeplaw June 07, 2012

Excellent recipe! I only had a chedder/jack blend of cheese, so that was all that I used and I also made my own croutons with just white bread, and I only let it sit about 4 hours before I baked it. Still amazing! Thank you to whoever wrote it 'on the wall'!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apostolic December 24, 2009

I had to take a brunch casserole to church on Easter Sunday for the Youth Breakfast. I used this recipe and it disappeared quickly. At the committee meeting this past week, the chair wanted a copy of the recipe. I had made this before just as the recipe was written, but on Sunday I added 1 can of diced green chili peppers and used more Cheddar in place of the Swiss cheese. Either way this recipe is fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Librarybaker April 16, 2009

Wonderful recipe. Lots of flavor and goes together so fast with the croutons. We held on the swiss but doubled up on the pepper jack. I served it with #78853, #59635, a fruit salad, and a maple bar recipe. Wonderful brunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ April 14, 2009

This is an excellent breakfast casserole. I made 1/2 of the recipe for the 2 of us and used bacon instead of sausage (personal preference). Other than that made as written. Very good and will be repeated in my house. Thanks Jess. Made for PRMR Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 02, 2009

We enjoy breakfast casseroles and this one was a winner too! I used Bob Evans sausage, skim milk, onion powder instead of minced onion and a colby and monterey jack blend shredded cheese. Very easy to put together and no fuss meal the next day. Thank you Jess4Freedom for posting this recipe. Made and reviewed for Please Reveiw My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 27, 2008
Overnight Cheese and Egg Casserole