9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these are delicious and were a big hit when i brought them to work for out Thanksgiving Brunch. the one thing i did notice is that i really had to cook them a loooong time, i think they were in at LEAST 45 minutes, however, they came out crispy and yummy and VERY flavorful (i made have wrapped the sausage too thick). regardless, they really are superb. thanks for a great recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancy-pants December 15, 2008

How have I not reviewed these yet? We make them every Christmas, and everyone loves them! We generally leave out the cayenne pepper and use turkey sausage. Even with medium eggs, I only get about six out of a pound of sausage. We like to make extras and then have them for breakfast for a week or so. They're good hot or cold. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brynnak December 21, 2011

Being British, i have certainly eaten my fair share of scotch eggs, but never really liked them that much. These are wonderful !!Nothing like the store bought ones. They were a snap to make and i loved the fact that they are baked rather than fried. It was the first time my Tennessee DH had ever experienced the pleasure of eating a scotch egg, he thought they looked rather odd ( like breaded tennis balls ) But he loved them. This recipe is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs August 25, 2007

I thought these were fantastic!!! I followed the recipe exactly except for adding cayenne. I grew up in a British home, and went to the butchers every weekend...we always got a scotch egg...well these were better than I ever remember... I made some for my Dad, who called me later just to say that they were the 'Best he`d ever had!'...So thank you very much for a great recipe, im off to make some more:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RocketZ June 21, 2007

This is a great recipe! You can also dredge the "scotch eggs" through egg and flour and then roll them in bread crumbs. You can also fry them this way or bake them at around 450 for a healthier version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amie July 19, 2001

I have never had the pleasure of tasting a scotch egg and I must say, they are pretty good. I only had extra large eggs so I made six. I should have made four because my sausage shrank and exposed a lot of the egg. I had already started cooking these before I realized I had forgotten to dip them in egg and roll in breadcrumbs. I think these need some kind of dipping sauce but I'm not sure what to use. All-in-all, I will make these again and experiment with different sauces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny April 27, 2011

These are totally awesome. I served these for my family at a football party and everyone raved highly of them. I used a mixture of hot italian and regular sage pork sausage and served them with recipe 162928 mustard pretzel dip and went together great. Thanks Fofi definitely a do again and again recipe in my household

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexygrneyes777 February 20, 2008

I have been eating these for breakfast (one egg, 1/2 serving). They are almost too rich! (Oh my - who said that! LOL) I made a royal mess when I tried to fry these, so next time I will bake them as suggested by another reviewer. I was a little sceptical about eating them cold, as I was not previously familiar with the recipe. I did cheat the day I made them & ate one hot from the pan, but I actually *prefer* them chilled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 27, 2002
Oven Style Scotch Eggs