8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had 30 people over last night... this recipe and comments were a god send!! Nonstick foil worked great. I cooked 2 trays for a total of 45 links with 10 big bell pepper; red & green and 6 medium onions @ 375f for 50 minutes (last 10 w/o foil). Sausage was nicely bronzed. I had a tray of spicy links that came out nice but lost a lot of the "hot" factor so maybe 50 minutes is too long. No survivors!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soup4lunch July 18, 2012

Made this tonight on the grill and the whole family enjoyed it. I did take the tin foil off for the last 15 minutes or so to brown it up, like someone suggested. Very good. Will be sure to make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook May 30, 2011

Excellent!! I needed a quick meal and I didn't have time to cook my usual sausage & peppers recipe(stovetop!) I did listen to some other reviewers and browned the sausages ever so quickly in a frying pan (just to get a few lines so that they wouldn't be so pale). I omited the italian seasonings (prefer my sausages & peppers less seasoned). Cooked it 55 minutes, but the last 10 minutes I sliced the sausages almost thru (my husband likes things more well done) and took off the foil - helped brown the sausages a little further. All in all, quick, tasty, and easy!! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee827 May 30, 2008

I made this using a mix of sausages (Italian spicy pork, London pork with parsley, Portuguese chorizo) and red peppers. I found I was out of Italian seasoning just before it went into the oven so I just used lots of freshly ground black pepper and some fresh sage I found in the fridge. I took the foil off about 10-15 mins before the end to let it brown a bit. I had cut the peppers into 4 large chunks each after removing the core and seeds. They kept their shape but were still well cooked. I served it with steamed Kipfler potatoes and steamed broccolini. It was delicious, quick and easy, and with very little washing up. This is my type of recipe. Many thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Hannigan March 28, 2009

Made this on the grill. Followed the recipe as written other then I used a bag of frozen green peppers and a bag of frozen onions. I didn't add the olive oil but added a bit of water to the bottom of the pan. Also didn't add the italian seasoning. Everyone enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 31, 2008

This was a quick and easy way to fix sausage with onions & peppers. Growing up Italian, it is hard to beat the slow cook oven method with a smidge of tomato. Next time, I might brown them a bit before they go in the oven with minced garlic and reduce the Italian Seasonings in half. Sausage and Peppers are usually a weekend meal for me, and this makes it possible to fix during the week! (Made for PAC 2008)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 April 07, 2008

This results in a juicy sausage. My only issue is that I had only eaten grilled or fried sausage before and, thus, wasn't very accustomed to the light color of the sausage that results when you bake it. Thank for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 July 10, 2007

i have fixed this for my family and they really loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle2007 April 01, 2007
Oven Sausage With Peppers-N-Onions