30 Reviews

I ALWAYS make my own spagetti sauces, however,I used canned or homemade stewed tomatoes, but I digress. well one day at work, we had to make roasted tomatoes and I was snooping on food.com to see if there was anything good, and I came accross this recipe, and thought next time I make spagetti or need tomato sauce for anything I will have to try it. I have now made this twice. WOW it makes an excellent flavor in my already prefected spagetti sauce, this recipie has only made it better. I will never, NEVER make any sauce without using this as my base. thanks for sharing. Should have more stars :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curvycook May 22, 2011

Nice & easy. I cored the tomatoes before roasting. Pulled them out after an hour, cooled slightly & removed the skins. Then I added fresh chopped basil & parsely & finished for another 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Used my potato masher to just break down the tomatoes to chunky, personal favorite.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DurangoJudy August 30, 2010

I had 5 pounds of Roma tomatoes so I doubled the recipe. I cut them in half and removed most of the seeds and gel as some reviews had said the sauce ended up too thin. Roasted 40 minutes then took off the skin (super easy!!!). Followed the review that added fresh herbs (parsley, basil, and oregano) and roasted for another 20 minutes. A lot of the liquid cooked off. I used the stick blender and the consistency is EXACTLY like from a jar. I yielded about 3.5 cups of thick sauce. Next time I would add onion to the roast for deeper flavor and maybe not get rid of the seeds/gel. GREAT recipe. Will save this and make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bondagel_1654630 September 20, 2015

This is awesome! I made a big batch with some great roma tomatoes from the market and canned it for a quick weeknight dinner. Now I just brown some ground beef and toss in a jar of these :) very nice! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
womanofmystery December 14, 2013

wow. amazing. can't wait to buy a ton of fresh, in season tomatoes.. and freeze!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u July 28, 2012

This recipe was SO easy and worked SO well!! I used my immersion stick and the consistency for us is PERFECT!!! Thank you SOOO much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki G. August 18, 2016

I just made this with my roma tomatoes from the garden. It was absolutely fantastic. I followed your recipe exactly (baked for 45 minutes) and then when it was cool I processed them and put it in jars which I will freeze as my grandson LOVES tomato sauce and this is the best one I have ever tasted. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallyo August 24, 2015

We don't mind the seeds. This recipe yields about 3.5 cups of pureed sauce which freezes very well. Here's a variation of C.C's recipe which we enjoy - add 1 teaspoon Italian Herb Seasoning, 10 oz whole mushrooms and 1 medium onion cut in fourths.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 21, 2015

The aroma throughout my house as this was cooking was amazing. I actually made this several months ago when I had lots of tomatoes from my CSA. I used the sauce the make a spaghetti sauce, and it was the best sauce I have personally ever made. Thank you so much! Note: I dumped everything from the baking sheet into a blender.....I think next time I would not quite dump all the liquid (or at least I would make that decision depending on how much liquid is in the pan). My sauce was a bit thin and I wish I had just used a little less of the liquid....regardless, it was phenomenal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa November 19, 2014

I thought this was pretty phenomenal, given the lack of effort needed. I baked in a rectangular Pyrex dish because my baking sheets don't have sides. I agree with one reviewer who says the sauce is a bit thin, but that didn't bother me too much. Next time I might try boiling it down at the end or adding some tomato paste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza Z. May 27, 2014
Oven Roasted Tomato Sauce