27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I ALWAYS make my own spagetti sauces, however,I used canned or homemade stewed tomatoes, but I digress. well one day at work, we had to make roasted tomatoes and I was snooping on food.com to see if there was anything good, and I came accross this recipe, and thought next time I make spagetti or need tomato sauce for anything I will have to try it. I have now made this twice. WOW it makes an excellent flavor in my already prefected spagetti sauce, this recipie has only made it better. I will never, NEVER make any sauce without using this as my base. thanks for sharing. Should have more stars :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curvycook May 22, 2011

Nice & easy. I cored the tomatoes before roasting. Pulled them out after an hour, cooled slightly & removed the skins. Then I added fresh chopped basil & parsely & finished for another 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Used my potato masher to just break down the tomatoes to chunky, personal favorite.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DurangoJudy August 30, 2010

This is awesome! I made a big batch with some great roma tomatoes from the market and canned it for a quick weeknight dinner. Now I just brown some ground beef and toss in a jar of these :) very nice! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
womanofmystery December 14, 2013

wow. amazing. can't wait to buy a ton of fresh, in season tomatoes.. and freeze!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u July 28, 2012

We don't mind the seeds. This recipe yields about 3.5 cups of pureed sauce which freezes very well. Here's a variation of C.C's recipe which we enjoy - add 1 teaspoon Italian Herb Seasoning, 10 oz whole mushrooms and 1 medium onion cut in fourths.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 21, 2015

The aroma throughout my house as this was cooking was amazing. I actually made this several months ago when I had lots of tomatoes from my CSA. I used the sauce the make a spaghetti sauce, and it was the best sauce I have personally ever made. Thank you so much! Note: I dumped everything from the baking sheet into a blender.....I think next time I would not quite dump all the liquid (or at least I would make that decision depending on how much liquid is in the pan). My sauce was a bit thin and I wish I had just used a little less of the liquid....regardless, it was phenomenal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa November 20, 2014

I thought this was pretty phenomenal, given the lack of effort needed. I baked in a rectangular Pyrex dish because my baking sheets don't have sides. I agree with one reviewer who says the sauce is a bit thin, but that didn't bother me too much. Next time I might try boiling it down at the end or adding some tomato paste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza Z. May 27, 2014

This is a fabulous recipe! I had 6 quarts of Roma tomatoes from our produce co-op and wanted to do something different with them. I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't skin the tomatoes and instead threw them in my Blendtec for a smooth sauce. I also put the sauce on the stove to reduce the sauce a bit. So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
worldmom12 April 13, 2013

Wonderful way to use my surplus roma tomatoes from my garden. Froze in 8 oz containers. I pureed tomatoes with the skins on using my hand held blender. I also used about a cup of red bell peppers with this. Very good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird April 20, 2012

I made this up and used this in my spaghetti sauce. Great flavour!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl February 16, 2012
Oven Roasted Tomato Sauce