Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Roasted Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Roasted Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      I ALWAYS make my own spagetti sauces, however,I used canned or homemade stewed tomatoes, but I digress. well one day at work, we had to make roasted tomatoes and I was snooping on food.com to see if there was anything good, and I came accross this recipe, and thought next time I make spagetti or need tomato sauce for anything I will have to try it. I have now made this twice. WOW it makes an excellent flavor in my already prefected spagetti sauce, this recipie has only made it better. I will never, NEVER make any sauce without using this as my base. thanks for sharing. Should have more stars :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Nice & easy. I cored the tomatoes before roasting. Pulled them out after an hour, cooled slightly & removed the skins. Then I added fresh chopped basil & parsely & finished for another 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Used my potato masher to just break down the tomatoes to chunky, personal favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      wow. amazing. can't wait to buy a ton of fresh, in season tomatoes.. and freeze!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      I thought this was pretty phenomenal, given the lack of effort needed. I baked in a rectangular Pyrex dish because my baking sheets don't have sides. I agree with one reviewer who says the sauce is a bit thin, but that didn't bother me too much. Next time I might try boiling it down at the end or adding some tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      This is awesome! I made a big batch with some great roma tomatoes from the market and canned it for a quick weeknight dinner. Now I just brown some ground beef and toss in a jar of these :) very nice! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      This is a fabulous recipe! I had 6 quarts of Roma tomatoes from our produce co-op and wanted to do something different with them. I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't skin the tomatoes and instead threw them in my Blendtec for a smooth sauce. I also put the sauce on the stove to reduce the sauce a bit. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      Wonderful way to use my surplus roma tomatoes from my garden. Froze in 8 oz containers. I pureed tomatoes with the skins on using my hand held blender. I also used about a cup of red bell peppers with this. Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I made this up and used this in my spaghetti sauce. Great flavour!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      We were really underwhelmed by this recipe. I love roasted tomatoes and use them all the time, especially when the garden is in full swing. But this recipe just needed...something. Maybe a little red pepper or spice? Or a little tomato paste to thicken it up to be more like a traditional spaghetti sauce? It made a very thin sauce. I would say this is a good way to make tomatoes to use in a different sauce recipe, but it didn't seem like a complete sauce to us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I used the roasted tomatoes in a Bolognese sauce with Penne and it worked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Fabulous! At the end of the season my garden is a hodge-podge of different varieties and sizes of tomato-this recipe was just what we needed for the box of mixed tomatoes that my granddaughter I picked. We used everything from beefsteak to cherry tomatoes, and it tured out perfect. I can't wait to try it on pizza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      This is so good! I made it with fresh roma tomatoes from my garden. It's AMAZING. Thank you for such an easy way to make sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Very good and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This was fantastic! I bought a box of tomatoes at a growers market and didnt want to waste any.I followed your recipe,only changing the dried herbs to fresh ones I have growing in the garden.Also, i put through the blender at the end.Froze the sauce in batches....smells divine,and soo simple.Thanks,shall make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Easy and delicious. I'll make this often. Served it over spinach ravioli from Costco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I can not believe how delicious and simple this recipe is - it tastes so absolutely amazing! I would give it 10 stars if I could!! I wish I would have double or tripled the batch - or even more. I did as a previous reviewer did and pureed in the blender to make the sauce smooth. I can't get over how easy and amazing it was!! THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This tomato sauce is so good and the smell in my kitchen while the tomatoes were baking were amazing. I made as is except I only used 1/4 tsp of sugar and 3 garlic cloves. This will be my new home-made tomato sauce from now on. Thanks Chris for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Fabulous, I must say! Almost too easy to be so good. I used a mix of garden tomatoes, Roma & Jetstar. Followed recipe exact except I added A couple of more garlic cloves. When they were still warm the skins came off so easily, then I pureed them in the blender for a smooth sauce. Seved over penne pasta w/ shredded mozz mixed in. Will be making again & freezing for a fresh tomato taste in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Great and easy sauce. I shouldn't have added sugar since garden tomatoes tend to be sweet already. I'll play with the seasonings some too as I make this over and over again...just for personal taste preference. I froze mine in 1/2 C sizes so I can just take some out each time I need to add sauce to pizza, spaghetti, soups, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Roasted Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.7
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    60%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 593.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites