13 Reviews

I have to ask, is there a typo in the amount of pepper? When I made this, I thought three tablespoons was alot, but based on all the reviews, I followed the recipe to a T. The taste of pepper was very overpowering and we had to scrape off the outer skin. I did marinate for two days and the meat was VERY tender and juicy. I will make this again using about 3 TSP of pepper to give it a fairer shake and hopefully a higher review. I think this recipe has promise.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 December 15, 2008

Very good... Sweet and Spicy... I don't like cayenne pepper... and I should have not put a tsp in... but at the same time we loved it. Just dipped the meat in sour cream... to get rid of the heat... the kids loved that! ;O) Now my FIL who loves heat would have laughed at me... since I know it really wasn't that hot. LOL... I only let it sit for 3 hours... but that was enough... loved it!! Oh and I didn't have onion salt... used onion powder... I didn't know what the oven should be on... so I started at 400 and immediately turned it down to 350 once I had it in the oven. I did 1.5 hours for 4 lbs... the dark meat was juicy the whiter meat not so much. I took it out well over 160. Oh well.. Had this with broccoli and baked potato... ok microwaved... I have kids...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons July 02, 2009

Boring, Bland sweet taste. I was disappointed with it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kentucky Chef Steve May 16, 2009

wow that was great i am going to try it on chicken. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracey lannan April 22, 2009

Very easy, but a little sweet for my taste. I made Cuban Sandwiches and BBQ from the leftovers. A hit with the family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wvgreenb March 28, 2009

OMG this was fantastic! My whole family raved about this one. The flavors in the rub blend really well. I'm going to try this on ribs next. A winner of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea December 28, 2008

I really put this recipe through the wringer. I took a picnic butt bone in, 4lb pork roast (you can't get a cheaper cut) & marinated it for 3 days. I cooked it at 350 degrees & it took 2.5hrs. I recommend you follow the recipe's recommendation 150 degrees internal then REMOVE!. I cut the recipe in half for 4lbs & had more then I needed, but what the heck I used it all anyway. It was fantastic!!!!!! I do not think, I have ever used that word in a review ? Juicy, tender, tasty. I plan on using this often & will now make a full recipe to try on other cuts. Including the very less expensive. The remains of this meat have also been used for sandwiches & the bone will be used for a soup next week. Great recipe Kitten, thank you for posting !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada November 22, 2008

I definitely recommend not using a brined Pork Loin like I did. It came out rather salty. But I will say, the leftovers made an amazing salad additive. Good taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumpsgirl September 28, 2008

Excellent depth of flavor and aroma. We grilled this on the rotisserie, laying aluminum foil on the grill to protect it (it is extremely messy). Will most definitely use this rub recipe again. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. May 18, 2008

Yum Yummy mixture of herb and spices. Will definitely make this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shonaleew January 21, 2007
Oven-Roasted Pork Loin With Dry Rub