Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Roasted Parsnips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Roasted Parsnips

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      These were outstanding! I have now found my new favorite roasted vegetable! I used some authentic Hungarian paprika instead of cayenne, and added a few crushed sprigs of fresh thyme. My kids thought they were funky potatoes, and since they were shoveling them into their mouths, I didn't give away the secret. Thanks s'kat, these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I have never had parsnips before and am trying to incorporate more veggies in my diet. These were GREAT! I mixed everything in a big bowl and spread them on the cookie sheet. Mine didn't take the whole time to cook, just 20 minutes before they started to get too brown. I can't wait to go back to the store to buy more parsnips. Thanks for introducing me to a wonderful new taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      Can't believe the inconvenience in attempting to just let you know that this is a great recipe.
      Perhaps I'm a techno dinosaur. Do want to let you know that this recipe has a great punch of flavour and is definitely a nice change to oven fries.
      Many thanks, Chris.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Very tasty little treats! I made these for my Mom and I (the rest of the family would not touch them!) I added the garlic from the beginning...I didn't read the recipe all of the way through...thankfully, all was okay. They did not make it to our dinner plates, we just kept walking by the dish and popped a few into our mouths - GONE in 10mins!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This is a great recipe, which has become a firm favourite in our house. Sometimes roast parsnips can be “ woody “, by following this recipe they come out the oven perfect. I vary the preparation slightly by putting the parsnips in a plastic food bag, adding the oil, garlic and seasoning, then giving it a good shake to make sure they are covered evenly. Then, once on the baking tray, I sprinkle the cayenne over the parsnips. I do this again after turning them at the 15 minute mark…I do like them spicy ! Makes a great alternative to chips or potatoes. Works just as well with just olive oil for traditional roast parsnips for a Sunday roast. Well done S’kat ! This is a simple but wonderful recipe, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      Terrific recipe! I'd never eaten parsnips, but picked up a bunch tonight at the store and decided I'd figure out what to do with them later--well, this was a wonderful choice! Spicy and sweet and really nicely textured. I could have eaten the entire batch for dinner! Thanks for another winner, s'kat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Taste good with unhomoginised organic yogurt mixed with organic fresh pressed garlic and a little grey sea salt. They got dark but they were still kind of tough. Organic parsnips from our weekly local organic basket, avocado oil as I understand it is healthier to heat than olive oil, organic garlic, plus the rest of the ingredients. I'd try another recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      Yummy. I just sprayed the pan with oil and sprayed the top of the parsnips with a little more oil. Then baked. Salted after. Easy and fast. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      I tossed the parsnips in a boil with the oil and cayenne, then added a bit of paprika. I accidentally cooked these at 350 so they didn't get the same texture, but they were delicious. We dipped them in a little honey too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I tried these with dinner tonight. They are delicious! Much better tasting than french fries and better for you too. I love the slightly sweet flavor and the subtle kick from the cayenne pepper. I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      These have a very good taste. I cooked them too long and they came out crunchy. But they were still great. Next time I will keep a closer eye on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      These turned out wonderfully. I cooked at 400 degrees because I was simultaneously cooking salmon. They were not crisp; I'm not sure if it's the temp or if they just aren't supposed to be. Nonetheless, they had a great flavor. Instead of salt/garlic I used garlic salt with great results. VERY good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Really fantastic parsnips. I made as written and they were almost like french fries. We loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I'm another one who had never had parsnips before and when I saw other parsnip newbies liked this recipe, I thought I'd try it out. Well, I don't think parsnips are my thing :) But I am not going to rate the recipe because I don't think it's the recipe's fault, just the parsnips :D Thanks for sharing it, I'm glad I gave it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Yummy! My new favourite way to cook parsnips!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      These are great! My DH and I both loved them...we are repeating again tonight! The cayenne makes these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      LOVED THIS! I was out of cayanne so I used chili powder. Only problem was I didn't make enough so my husband and I fought over them. We're new to parsnips...what a fabulous flavour they have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Very tasty! I had baby parsnips from the garden so I left them whole, parboiled them for 4 minutes. Used chili flakes instead of cayenne. Enjoyed by both of us Thanks s'kat - love those parsnips

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Roasted Parsnips

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.3
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    43%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 162.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes