17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We gave it a try, but it tasted like grass with garlic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster September 22, 2011

Really great. I learned from Whole Foods that kale has an ANDI (Aggregate Nutrition Density Index) of 1000, its top rating. So I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. I cut off all the ribs, including those on the inside. This is only my second time cooking kale, so I wasn't sure how far I needed to go. I added sea salt for excellent results. Will be making kale like this all the time now. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend February 25, 2011

Utterly stupendous way to make kale! Love it! I like to eat kale steamed most of the time or with a little olive oil and spices, this was a different and fun way to eat it because the texture really changes. Cutting the ribs off is a must, I left a few on and they were tougher to chew through. I used black sesame seeds for a nice exotic flavor, and since I am watching salt intake I skipped using salt during the bag-n-shake step and just put on a light sprinkling of kosher salt before I popped it in the oven, all I needed was about 15 minutes. Will definitely make over and over! Made belatedly for our VIP in Veggie Swap 24!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule August 05, 2010

My daughter loved it, fun texture and great taste. My husband hated it, until I added it to a hearty soup, then he loved it. Great way to use such a vitamin packed vegi by changing the texture. Thanks, Laura

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Charlonne April 02, 2010

Pretty good, simple, and something different to do with kale. It is easy to overdo the salt so watch out. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 07, 2010

This was nice for a night time snack! Watch out for the salt. I did not measure but mine was a little too salty. I will add a much smaller amount next time. My 12 year old even enjoyed it and I was surprised it got so crispy so quickly! I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for taking the trouble to submit this recipe:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu January 30, 2010

EXCELLENT. I love greens and have a challenge figuring out how to cook them. These were perfect and surprisingly crispy. It is REALLY easy to over do the salt so go easy. I omitted the sesame seeds as I don't like them and added extra garlic, was delish!! Would be great as a healthy snack as well. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to Eat!! January 28, 2010

I like the crispiness of the kale and the taste was great with the garlic. DH liked it less than me. Thanks JanuaryBride :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 11, 2013

Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 February 05, 2013

Not rating it because kale is just not for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski March 13, 2012
Oven-Roasted Kale