23 Reviews

ABSOLUTELY GREAT TASTE HERE & we l oved the combo of lemon, garlic & nuts with the beans! I did substitute lemon pepper for the S&P, but that was about it! Served it as part of a vegetarian lunch, along with Fennel, Pomegranate and Feta Salad! These beans are really a must-try for those who enjoy green beans! Thanks for posting! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my Raw Food groupmates in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 5]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 13, 2008

I am not noting stars at this time . Quite good. Roasted in pan in butter/olive oil left from Tater-dipped Oven Fried Chicken #91575 The complexity of the flavors (basil, garlic, lemon)is great, and the crunchy bits left from the chicken were wonderful with the other flavors. But my beans were tough. On the other hand, it is that time of year...end of snap bean season. (Got Thursday at the LC Farmers' Market; roasted Sunday night.) Slivered almonds soggy before they cooled. Suggest adding already toasted slivered almonds, tossing to incorporate only the last few minutes of roasting. Plus, I would increase the lemon juice and maybe the zest too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT October 20, 2008

Fabulous! So, so good that I picked them off the pan all through dinner and ate the leftovers cold from the fridge the next day. I had a 16 oz bag of frozen extra fine whole green beans, tossed them with the other ingedients on the baking sheet. The beans thawed before they went in the oven so I cooked as directed. Only change was sliced almonds instead of slivered, so I added those just the last 4 min of cooking. Thanks, Kozmic Blues, this was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 26, 2005

I enjoyed these crunchy sweet beans. I did add sliced (about the same size as beans)large vidalia onion which I think kept the beans moist. Didn`t need to add water except the water fron washing the beans. The garlic powder I subbed fresh crushed minced garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ January 12, 2004

I love roasted green beans. I saved the almonds to put on after baking. I should have saved the lemon too, I think they would have gotten browner with just the oil. I thought the 10 minute cooking time was perfect, we very much enjoyed them crisp tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 05, 2011

Pretty good. Might try some other recipes before coming back to this one though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann April 29, 2009

These are great!!! I love the flavors!!! Mine took a little longer to roast, about 20 minutes but it was because I had a lot of beans and should have used 2 baking sheets. The foil made for easy clean-up in the end too!! The almonds were so good roasted in that lemon juice and garlic powder, they were a treat all by themselves!! Then the beans had all kinds of great flavors going on with the lemon, garlic, and basil. Loved these beans, thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee October 12, 2008

Wonderful way to prepare fresh green beans. I had to leave the almonds out because my DH is not supposed to eat nuts. I am not sure that I really cared for the basil, so next time, I will just up on the garlic power. I will prepare green beans this way again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 10, 2008

Very good way to prepare beans. So easy, and they were nice and crisp even when fully "done." I added a small package of baby portabella mushrooms, which were a scrumptious sidenote. As other reviewers mentioned, however, I did have to roast them for 20 minutes before they were finished! Thanks, I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook March 23, 2008

These are sooo good! I use frozen, thawed beans and the texture isn't great, but the taste is amazing! And I am not a fan of green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 12, 2007
Oven Roasted Green Beans