11 Reviews

Very Good. I simply sprayed mine with olive oil cooking spray and added a bit of sea salt. They came out perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rush_0 March 09, 2013

3 TB would be waaay too much salt. I used just under 1TB so I am wondering if 3 tsp was meant instead? Also used about 1/4 cup of oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiemcelroy September 16, 2012

I'm sorry to give this a bad review, but we had to throw these away because they were way to salty. When I read the recipe I thought it sounded like a lot of salt used it anyhow. Ewww!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 December 05, 2009

I love roasted veggies. These are simple yet wonderful. I had 1.5 lbs of brussels but I could not bring myself to use 1/2 cup of olive oil on these precious little sprouts, so I only used 1/4 cup. I also added garlic. They browned just right. Mmmmmm! Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 02, 2009

How wild, these tasted kind of popcorn-esque to me! I cooked them for the full 45 minutes, and they started to smell a bit burnt to me towards the end of cooking, but they were just fine once they were done. I had way too many sprouts (I mistakenly bought two bags instead of one), so I just tossed them all in. I knew that doubling the recipe outright would be too much oil and salt, but I did increase the oil to 3/4 cup, and I added 1 more teaspoon of salt. In hindsight, I probably should have not increased the oil and salt at all, even though I doubled the sprouts, but that was my own fault. They still tasted great with the added salt and oil, I just think that the extra wasn't necessary. I love roasted vegetables of all sorts, and this was no exception. We'll definitely be having these again, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess March 24, 2009

These are delicious as written. I don't know where some seen 3 tbs, it clearly says tsp. I also tossed in some garlic since I usually cook everything with it. Excellent recipe, will be using this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrylm60 March 08, 2015

Very simple, very easy. My husband had a good steak dinner tonight because of this side dish. Yes, the 3 tablespoon salt recommendation is an obvious mistype - please do not follow it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janice Ong May 26, 2014

Love this recipe. I have used fresh and frozen, having better results using fresh. The trouble with frozen is that with the excess moisture you end up "steaming" the sprouts as much as roasting them. If using frozen, I recommend thawing them first and allowing them to drain a bit.<br/><br/>As far as the amount of salt goes, I usually just grind the salt over the sheet of sprouts until it seems like enough, and I am certain that I use FAR less than 3 tablespoons. Probably more like 1 tsp. I didn't knock my rating down a star for it, though, because "Bacon" does suggest adjusting the salt according to taste. I know 3T would be WAY too much for my taste (and I like things salty).<br/><br/>Like other reviewers, I also add freshly ground black or white pepper and next time I am going to try Cynnalyn's idea to add cayenne. Sounds yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzy1017 April 22, 2014

Yum! Never thought I could use frozen sprouts, so this has changed how we eat sprouts, and was perfect! I did heat the baking pan first for 10 minutes, and cut roasting time down to 30. Also added some cayenne powder. Salt amount was perfect - sounds like others might be adding regular table salt (which would be too much). Stick with chunky kosher salt and it's perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynnalyn December 31, 2013
Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts