42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You've got a winner here! Super-easy to put together, pop in the oven, go do whatever, and Voila!, supper's ready. Love the tender, tasty meat, and the gravy is so yummie. So glad you posted this nifty recipe. Many thanks, Laudee C.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee October 12, 2002

This roast is wonderful and so easy. My family loved it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carl Pickard June 17, 2002

Great roast beef recipe, followed the instructions to a T and was rewarded with a delicious non greasy roast meal and with gravy too! Thanks for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* August 31, 2003

This was fantastic! My family loved it and the smell was incredible. I made it in my crockpot on low and used beer instead of water. I also had some finely chopped onions laying around and tossed them in (1/2 cup). After I took out the roast I added some dissolved cornstarch to the sauce in the crockpot to thicken it up. Perfection! Will definitely make again and pass the recipe along.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EggHeaven January 08, 2010

I was skeptical that something so simple could be as good as the reviews say, but it truly lives up to the hype! The roast was moist and tender, and the gravy was delicious! The first time I made this, I found it a bit too salty, so the second time, I used reduced-sodium cream of mushroom soup, and it was perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatrinaLaBonn November 22, 2009

This was an excellent dish...the gravy was sooo good. Thank you for a great dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VikingMom April 06, 2004

Fabulous! Used dark beer, golden mushroom soup and my own spices (didn't have any onion soup mix in the house) - turned out great. So moist! Thanks so much for my new go-to roast beef recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunebuggy8 October 06, 2010

Very good! I didn't use any soup mix as I made my own gravy afterwards. My boyfriend actually put this together for supper and it turned out great. He's not really kitchen savvy and this was a nice easy recipe for him. He added some onions, carrots and potatoes about an hour before the roast was finished. We will definitely hold on to this recipe. Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ardenia March 01, 2010

Amazing! My whole family loved this recipe, even the kids! I will be making this again! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenna R November 15, 2009

My dh & I love sirloin tip roast. We were thrilled with this dish. I have never made roast with soup before and was very pleasently surprised. It was quick and easy to make and it made the house smell great, all afternoon. I used the water option as my dh & I don't drink beer. The roast was moist and tender, the gravy, robust and outstanding. Thanks for sharing your treasure :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 12, 2009
Oven Roast Beef