8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I put 2 old towels in the bath tub to prevent scratching, looked at the oven racks...they was a REAL sorry sight...threw in 1/2 cup of amonia and let them soak. Fantastic results. Didn't even need the wire brush or phenumatic drill...just a couple of "pop-it-off" patches and, would you believe, shiny stainless steel appeared. Too easy, too cheap. Thankyou for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robyn win October 24, 2008

To be honest I didn't really think this would work. I also put a little amonia in with the detergent and let soak for about six hours (had to play Dominos with some friends). To my surprise I had to scrub a few places that has been stuck on forever, but for the most part the racks came clean. Thanks for such a great idea. I will be doing this from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea September 17, 2009

Worked like a charm! Getting a yukky chore done with virtually no effort was an absolute gift. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton November 21, 2009

Saw Tinks picture and review during PAC and after cooking with PAC decided I really needed to try this. Only had liquid laundry detergent so used that and did add 1/2 cup ammonia to mine. Worked like a charm and what mess saver - everything was contained in the bathtub. It did a great job with minimal scrubbing (with a sponge only) and the job was great. Thanks Pricilla for a great idea.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 April 22, 2009

I am very, very, very happy with the results and the racks have only been 30 mins. Thank you, thank you , thank you!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tusa June 16, 2012

Brilliant!
I HATE cleaning the oven racks, so I'd put the job off for ages. And then I found this post and figured it was time.
Like other responders, I also added a 1/3 cup or so ammonia to the water. Mine only soaked for about 1 1/2 hours because I ran out of time, but all the baked on stuff came right off the racks very easily with just a little bit of scrubbing. The darn things look brand new!
No excuses anymore - my oven racks will be clean from now on. Maybe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ April 14, 2012

I don't even have to wait for my racks to come out of the tub to rate this. I put my racks in the tub with 1/2 C liquid detergent because I don't have powder. I set the shower head to hard spray to mix the soap and the grime was already coming off as I filled the tub. I don't know why I never thought to place the racks in the tub. So much easier, they fit and I don't get the gunk all over the kitchen trying to fit them in a sink that is just way to small. Thanks for posting this great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 12, 2009

Anything that takes the work out of work - I'm all for it! I honestly didn't even think my racks would fit, but they did & I can't believe I've never thought of this before. I've done everything from drowning the kitchen sink in water trying to scrub & rinse to using the oven cleaner sprays (which kill grass and bleach carpet, by the way) to setting the fire alarm off trying to "burn" the gunk away. I had a few spots that I wiped the rest of the way clean with a regular kitchen sponge before rinsing the racks, but that was it & it didn't require the use of an SOS pad, which in my opinion is the best part. I hate steel splinters! I will never scrub oven racks again! :) Thank you for sharing, Pricilla! Made for Spring 2009 Pick A Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 16, 2009
Oven Rack Cleaner