Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Kalua Pig Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Kalua Pig

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2003

      This recipe produces an authentic-tasting kalua pig that every resident and visitor to Hawaii loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Being from Hawaii we've made kalua pig tons, but I decided to try this since it had some added ingredients. I omitted the ginger and used garlic powder instead. This was really good. We always cook two 5lb. pork roast at the same time and it takes the same amount of time as it does for one. We usually freeze one for a later quick meal. You can also use banana peels over your meat if you don't have ti leaves for some added flavor. You need to cover you meat completely and don't leave openings or it'll dry out. Also, after skimming off the fat from the juice that comes out, you can use this to flavor your meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This was just like the Kaulua pig we have had at luaus. I have made this recipe twice, both times without the Ti leaves and it comes out great. This second time our party time was extended and the meat cooked atleast an extra hour. The juices had all cooked away. I just quickly heated all the other ingredients (except the liquid smoke) on the stove top and poured over the meat. It still turned out wonderfully! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      I did a little experement- I bought a huge piece of pork for a party(pork shoulder from Costco- it was actually two pieces in one package). Half I put in the oven and followed the directions exactly and the other I put in a crockpot with the same ingredients except that about 1/2 hour before it was done I added half a head of chopped cabbage (just like my favoite plate lunch resturant in Kauai). When it was done I served the two side by side and asked for everyone's opinion. Everyone liked the one in the crockpot better. I must say though that the one cooked in the oven shredded beautifully while the crockpot one had to be chopped into small pieces. The flavorings in the recipe were perfect though- only I used real ginger. Mahalo

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      Reading everyone else's recipe, I must have done something wrong, but I can't imagine what. The only thing I did differently was use banana leaves instead of ti leaves. Just couldn't find them. Anyway, this made my house smell Terrible. The meat had the same smell only milder. Maybe bad ingredients? Sadly, it was so awful, my family has begged me not to try this one again. Found another that came out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I have made this recipe many many times. The only changes I make is 1) i use a crockpot and cook on high for 1 hour and the turn down to low for about 12 hrs or overnight and 2) I add some water (about 1/2 cup but I monitor it and add more as necessary) to the mix...it keeps the meat moist during the long cook time. It ALWAYS comes out awesome. When I wake in the am, I touch it with the tongs and it literally falls apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Great recipe. Followed recipe except I did what loves_flavor did and used an oven roasting bag. Scored pork. Rubbed with other ingredients that I combined in the bag (no bowl to clean) and sealed it. Let marinate for an hour and popped in oven in cast iron skillet. Used shredded pork to make Kalua Pork Nachos. Corn chips, pork, shredded cheddar and jack cheeses, in micro to melt cheese, top with sour cream, salsa, and guacamole (Guacamole). Raves from all guests at New Years Eve gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I tried this using a crock pot. It came out a tad bit dry so I will stick to the recipe next time. But my incredibly picky daughter gobbled this up and both my hubby and I loved it. I think the would be great in the summer with some grilled veggie kabobs. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I make this pork every year for my annual luau party. I use pork shoulder from Smart & Final - they come 2 to a package. I marinate the pork the night before in the sauce. Then I cook them together in the oven for 8 hours at 275 degrees. It just comes apart so easy at the end. Be sure to wrap the pork completely in foil. After the pork is shredded we pour the sauce in the pan on top of the pork to keep it moist. Delicious every time I make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Wow! My husband and i were married in Hawaii and ate Kalua pork at a Luau, this tastes just as delicious and is now a regular on our dinners list. I have been asked for the recipe by everyone who has tried it. The only difference i made was to cook in oven bags (as suggested) and replace the liquid smoke with a smokey chipolte liquid - I'm in the UK and cant get hold of the leaves or liquid smoke :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I made this in the summer for my husband's birthday party and people are still talking about it in November! It was delicious!!! I couldn't find ti leaves, but I did find banana leaves which worked perfectly. Other that I made it exactly as the recipe called for. I really need to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This pork had fantastic flavor. I ended up cooking it in the oven without the aluminum foil and just cutting the pork loin in slices...it was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      I used a pork shoulder roast, and followed the recipe as well as I could. I did not have the ti leaves and I think I did not wrap the foil as tightly as I should. Because of that, the edges in some places were a little dry.That is the reason I did not give it 5 stars. The flavor was wonderful, and I will try again and I'm sure it will a 5 star treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe--thanks for sharing! We made it for a luau we had at home and everyone raved about how good it was. Definitely will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Kalua Pig

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.4
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    40%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 147.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 470.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 52.4 g
    104%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hawaiian sea salt

    liquid smoke

    ti leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites