Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Kalua Pig Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Kalua Pig

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2009

      200 degrees for 8 hours is not hot enough or long enough. Maybe if it was for 14 hours but I did it at 200 degrees for 10 hours and it still was nowhere near done. Also, way more liquid smoke; I would say 4 ounces of liquid smoke per 5 - 6 pounds. Also, I wouldn't do the water until the pork is shredded because it dilutes the liquid smoke. Once you shred the pork add a few cups of very hot water to moisten up the pork a bit. Beside that, the recipe is close.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      This is exactly how i make my kalua pig, down to the measurements! I often toss in a few garlic cloves, too, just because I like 'em. I've always made mine in the crockpot, and it smells wonderful and tastes awesome! DH had this in Hawaii AFTER having it at home and pronounced mine better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I made the crock pot version of this. When putting it together I used a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon of liquid smoke by mistake. I am glad I did because you could barely tell. I think I may accidentally put 2 tablespoons in next time. ;0) This was so simple to put together and DH really enjoyed it. I am sure he will be making sandwiches for lunch out of the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Wonderful! I'll be making this again. DH loved it as did the kids. I used less salt and forgot the water, oops. But it was sooo yummy. I've never had kahlua pig so I can't say anything about the authenticity of the flavor but we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I have a very similar recipe. The only difference I note is that mine calls for a couple of unpeeled bananas added to the pot while roasting. (Naturally they are discarded after cooking, but it does give it an added flavor.) Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Looked like a good recipe...turned out to be a GREAT recipe! Easy! And yes, the aroma makes it hard to wait for .. but do wait! I made mine in the crock. Excellent. Thank you for sharing! LA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      A wonderfully smoky pork roast. Made in crockpot and the aroma drove us crazy all day. Perfect for a meal when you have to leave the house early and come home late.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      This is also how I make my Kahlua Pig. I cut large slits into the pork butt and really fill them with the sea salt. I also put mine in the crockpot on low for 20-24 hours and it falls apart it is so juicy and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      This recipe made 160 people extremely happy last night at our church luau! We did add the garlic after the roasts were cooked and shredded to kick it up a notch, but it turned out wonderfully well! Thanks for sharing and making our luau the best ever! BTW: It's easy and reasonable to make, especially for a large group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Kalua Pig

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boston butt

    rock salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites