31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! These were quick and easy. Perfect comfort food served with a bowl of tomato soup. The only change I made was to add a little mustard. Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit October 23, 2007

This is the way my mom ALWAYS made "grilled cheese" - she used velveeta though - yumm!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetSmith154 August 24, 2007

I am thrilled with this technique! I like it so much better than my squished down fried one. I normally use just one slice of cheese, what a treat to have an extra slice. Coupled with a bowl of tomato soup- Perfect! I chose this recipe for PAC 2006. Thank you my darling daggle!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie October 10, 2006

Try adding some mustard on these sandwiches... AWESOME!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen September 21, 2006

Awesome ! So much easier than grilling one at a time. I have always doubled up on the cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dee July 23, 2006

Here's a quick way to make toasted cheese snacks - (of course you need toast and cheese!) First I put 4 slices of bread in my toaster - when that's ready, I put whatever is requested on the toast - usually just butter and a favorite-type cheese - sometimes thin onion slices and/or tomato slices or two slices of cooked bacon criss-crossed on top) Then I put the 4 slices of bread and cheese in the microwave - this can be done as singles or doubles (one slice of bread and cheese on top of the other slice, although I prefer singles) I turn the microwave on high and watch it closely - just when the cheese is starting to ooze out over the edge of the bread, out they come! Then slice diagonally or put the whole piece on a plate - tastes just like the in-the-pan or in-the-oven methods, except it's easier and faster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lojo40_12685672 August 16, 2013

what a great little easy recipe, I made two but could really see this being so good when you have heaps to make, would also like to try with ham and or tomatoes with the cheese (I used a sharp cheddar). I cooked mine at 200C fan forced and after 9 minutes was beautifully toasted and when I went to flip the other side was also toasted. The DM and I enjoyed immensely, thank you daggle, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 12, 2013

I gave this recipe 4 stars. This is how Head Start makes their grilled cheese. Except they spray their's with cooking spray. Fast & easy and the kids loved them. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut September 05, 2011

Good and so easy to make. It was nice to be able to make all the grilled cheese at one time. My family would have liked if the middle of the sandwich would have gotten more browned. The edges were brown but not the middle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 13, 2011

I make mine like this all the time too! Just a little note though, if you like a slice of tomato on your grilled cheese like we do, go with one slice of cheese. Unless you like steaming hot tomato juice/cheese sauce streaming out into your lap :D One slice of cheese is a perfect combo with a big slice of tomato!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tangled_Panda March 31, 2010
Oven Grilled Cheese