31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love making grilled cheese sandwiches without the time consuming grilling of them one or two at a time! When my 5 children brought their friends home for lunch, I would have been grilling sandwiches until dinner the old way! I've never tried baking them before now, as I eventually started to broil a cookie sheet full of cheese sandwiches at a time and that worked out well, browning them fairly evenly. What I do like about baking them is that it doesn't require watching them so closely (like broiling does) to keep them from getting too dark. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Likkel January 05, 2012

Loved this! They tasted just like my regular grilled cheese, with a lot less time baby-sitting the pan. We had white bread with white American, and sourdough with colby-jack and smoked provolone, and both were great. The cheese was perfect, and the crust had a nice crunch. I may never go back to cooking them on the stove. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC December 20, 2009

Don't get me wrong, I DO love this recipe, but it's funny to me that no one has credited this back to their school days. Not a lot of people that I knew in school liked this, but it was one of my favorite lunches. The way they made it, in mass quantity- it made it rock hard around the sides and one small soft spot in the center, and of course, only one piece of cheese... strangely, it was awesome to me, still is. -Thumbs Up-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkiTzCoRe April 22, 2009

I loved cooking it this way. Thanks for the recipe. I ending up making more of a melt than just grilled cheese (had turkey and havarti and tomatoes and jalepenos and mustard). But so much more convenient when making more than one sandwich. I would have never thought about it. Delish. -Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Life Tussle April 16, 2009

WOW! I cannot believe I have wasted my time pan frying one by one for a family of six, ending up with soggy middles and a lot of time gone. I will never make grilled cheese on the stove again. Very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalRN August 24, 2008

Yum! How simple and delicious. These came out very crunchy outside and very ooey-gooey inside. Can't wait to try these with the grandkids. Thanks daggle. Made for the I Recommend tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 11, 2008

I have to admit I did not think this would tast any different than frying them. WOW I was wrong!! I was under the weather but wanted to have soup and grilled cheese ready for when my DH got home and not have to stand at the stove for more than a few minutes.This was perferct and this is the new way we are making grilled cheese. I can't want to have my sister's 6 kids over and see what they think. Yummmy!!! the edges seal in the cheese and boy is it crunchy!!! thank you Daggle!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerbare January 17, 2008

wow! I would've never thought grilled cheese sandwiches from the oven would come out so well! I never really like the pan-fried ones, they always seem to taste burnt even if not. these tasted perfectly cooked and melted and just YUM! :) I am going to make these again this week for dinner paired with some tomato soup and a salad. I also can't wait to try it using other cheese and adding some fresh veggies. thanks for a wonderful keeper --- this is a zaar star!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ December 13, 2007

I have always used this method for grilled cheese on soup & sandwich nights. I typically prefer the skillet version, but these just seem to go better with soup for some reason. Plus, it's so easy to make several of these on a cookie sheet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * November 18, 2007

I just gotta give you 5 stars! Though I really like/prefer my grilled cheese sandwiches made in one of my GOOD cast iron skillets. However, I do LOVE THESE THINGS as you make them, but I do them "open-faced" in the oven. I do use sharp cheddar, though. They are so quick, so easy, and have been one of my favorite comfort foods all my life. You know those after dinner munchies that just appear out of nowhere, and you just can't put your finger on WHAT IT IS YOU WANT? Well, these have always done the trick for me. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP October 24, 2007
Oven Grilled Cheese