Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Grilled Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Grilled Cheese

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2012

      I love making grilled cheese sandwiches without the time consuming grilling of them one or two at a time! When my 5 children brought their friends home for lunch, I would have been grilling sandwiches until dinner the old way! I've never tried baking them before now, as I eventually started to broil a cookie sheet full of cheese sandwiches at a time and that worked out well, browning them fairly evenly. What I do like about baking them is that it doesn't require watching them so closely (like broiling does) to keep them from getting too dark. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Loved this! They tasted just like my regular grilled cheese, with a lot less time baby-sitting the pan. We had white bread with white American, and sourdough with colby-jack and smoked provolone, and both were great. The cheese was perfect, and the crust had a nice crunch. I may never go back to cooking them on the stove. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Don't get me wrong, I DO love this recipe, but it's funny to me that no one has credited this back to their school days. Not a lot of people that I knew in school liked this, but it was one of my favorite lunches. The way they made it, in mass quantity- it made it rock hard around the sides and one small soft spot in the center, and of course, only one piece of cheese... strangely, it was awesome to me, still is. -Thumbs Up-

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I loved cooking it this way. Thanks for the recipe. I ending up making more of a melt than just grilled cheese (had turkey and havarti and tomatoes and jalepenos and mustard). But so much more convenient when making more than one sandwich. I would have never thought about it. Delish. -Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      WOW! I cannot believe I have wasted my time pan frying one by one for a family of six, ending up with soggy middles and a lot of time gone. I will never make grilled cheese on the stove again. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Yum! How simple and delicious. These came out very crunchy outside and very ooey-gooey inside. Can't wait to try these with the grandkids. Thanks daggle. Made for the I Recommend tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I have to admit I did not think this would tast any different than frying them. WOW I was wrong!! I was under the weather but wanted to have soup and grilled cheese ready for when my DH got home and not have to stand at the stove for more than a few minutes.This was perferct and this is the new way we are making grilled cheese. I can't want to have my sister's 6 kids over and see what they think. Yummmy!!! the edges seal in the cheese and boy is it crunchy!!! thank you Daggle!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      wow! I would've never thought grilled cheese sandwiches from the oven would come out so well! I never really like the pan-fried ones, they always seem to taste burnt even if not. these tasted perfectly cooked and melted and just YUM! :) I am going to make these again this week for dinner paired with some tomato soup and a salad. I also can't wait to try it using other cheese and adding some fresh veggies. thanks for a wonderful keeper --- this is a zaar star!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I have always used this method for grilled cheese on soup & sandwich nights. I typically prefer the skillet version, but these just seem to go better with soup for some reason. Plus, it's so easy to make several of these on a cookie sheet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I just gotta give you 5 stars! Though I really like/prefer my grilled cheese sandwiches made in one of my GOOD cast iron skillets. However, I do LOVE THESE THINGS as you make them, but I do them "open-faced" in the oven. I do use sharp cheddar, though. They are so quick, so easy, and have been one of my favorite comfort foods all my life. You know those after dinner munchies that just appear out of nowhere, and you just can't put your finger on WHAT IT IS YOU WANT? Well, these have always done the trick for me. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Yum! These were quick and easy. Perfect comfort food served with a bowl of tomato soup. The only change I made was to add a little mustard. Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      This is the way my mom ALWAYS made "grilled cheese" - she used velveeta though - yumm!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I am thrilled with this technique! I like it so much better than my squished down fried one. I normally use just one slice of cheese, what a treat to have an extra slice. Coupled with a bowl of tomato soup- Perfect! I chose this recipe for PAC 2006. Thank you my darling daggle!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Try adding some mustard on these sandwiches... AWESOME!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Awesome ! So much easier than grilling one at a time. I have always doubled up on the cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      Here's a quick way to make toasted cheese snacks - (of course you need toast and cheese!) First I put 4 slices of bread in my toaster - when that's ready, I put whatever is requested on the toast - usually just butter and a favorite-type cheese - sometimes thin onion slices and/or tomato slices or two slices of cooked bacon criss-crossed on top) Then I put the 4 slices of bread and cheese in the microwave - this can be done as singles or doubles (one slice of bread and cheese on top of the other slice, although I prefer singles) I turn the microwave on high and watch it closely - just when the cheese is starting to ooze out over the edge of the bread, out they come! Then slice diagonally or put the whole piece on a plate - tastes just like the in-the-pan or in-the-oven methods, except it's easier and faster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      what a great little easy recipe, I made two but could really see this being so good when you have heaps to make, would also like to try with ham and or tomatoes with the cheese (I used a sharp cheddar). I cooked mine at 200C fan forced and after 9 minutes was beautifully toasted and when I went to flip the other side was also toasted. The DM and I enjoyed immensely, thank you daggle, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I gave this recipe 4 stars. This is how Head Start makes their grilled cheese. Except they spray their's with cooking spray. Fast & easy and the kids loved them. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Good and so easy to make. It was nice to be able to make all the grilled cheese at one time. My family would have liked if the middle of the sandwich would have gotten more browned. The edges were brown but not the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I make mine like this all the time too! Just a little note though, if you like a slice of tomato on your grilled cheese like we do, go with one slice of cheese. Unless you like steaming hot tomato juice/cheese sauce streaming out into your lap :D One slice of cheese is a perfect combo with a big slice of tomato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Grilled Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    34%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 529.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites