Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Fried Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Fried Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      Mirjam you are truely Zaar's sweet potato Maven ! The roasting intensifies the sweet potato flavor so that it is the perfect foil for the black and cayenne pepper. The garlic adds another layer of flavor and a bit of crunch. Next time I think I'll add a bit of rosemary and serve it with lamb, then maybe thyme, for a roast beef _ how about some sage with pork and then ------

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Very tasty!! Loved the flavour & tenderness. I will be more attentive to making the fries the same size next time - I had a little trouble with some burning before others were cooked thoroughly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      5 star all the way - We loved this recipe. Nice & peppy served with a juicy burger. Thanks Mirj for a lovely addition to our Saturday night dinner 3 July 10 Made again and enjoyed just as much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Didn't have garlic cloves, so used 1/2 tsp. garlic powder instead. Had to cook them longer than recipe in order to get crispy-ness, but otherwise - YUM!!!! Will make again! :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      These are so delicious! We make them at least once a week. When I make them into wedges them seem to burn, so I cut mine into about 1 inch wide and 1/2 inch thick fries. And they usually don't take quite as long to cook this way...maybe half the time. I especially love the chunks of garlic at the end....Amazing...Will be making these FOREVER! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      What a wonderful combination of flavors and a welcome change from regular fries. These were a perfect complement to our grilled chicken sandwiches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe Mirj...My family & I certainly enjoyed this dish. I didn't have enough garlic so I used 1 clove of garlic and half of a large shallot (finely chopped). It worked great. We will certainly be having sweet potatoes prepared this way again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      I wish I would have made a bigger batch. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      SO good! Loved the kosher salt and paprika. We added half the cayenne and it was better for our taste. Thanks for posting, these were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

    • on April 26, 2009

      My husband liked these, which is unusual because he doesn't like sweet potatoes. That said, I was very disappointed. They were soggy and limp and NEVER crisped up at all. We couldn't get enough liquid to drink with these - they were VERY salty, spicy, peppery. Even my vegan daughter didn't care for them. If I did something wrong in the preparation - let me know - HOW do you get crispy oven sweet potatoes??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

    • on February 06, 2009

      I'm not sure what happened but mine never got crispy or crunchy. There are other ways I like sweet potatoes better but I'm glad I tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      MIRJ, A HAIKU FOR YOU Mirj, my dearest Mirj - you never disappoint me - unfried fries, perfect. Seriously though, these are great. I cut mine into 'homestyle' fries (cutting the whole potato lengthwise into oblong discs) and kept them pretty thin (1/6-1/4 inch). The thinnest ones actually got crispy - Terra Chips crispy - and the thicker ones had a nice texture. Took 35 minutes total - probably could have left the others an extra 5 minutes. Thanks Mirj - great use for my Vardaman sweet potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was good for a different way to prepare sweet potatoes, but we really didn't care for them too much. They really didn't come out crunchy or crisp like we expected. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I love sweet potatoes and this recipe is my new favorite way to eat them! Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I used all the spices but did not measure, as I know how spicy my husband and I like our food. I tweaked by using garlic powder, not minced garlic. I baked in a 9x13 baking pan for 45 minutes. The potatoes were soft, never crunchy, even after the extra 5 minutes. However, they were very tasty. I would definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was absolutely GREAT, Mirj!! My husband says I should make these from now on instead of regular fries! And he's already planning on me planting a whole additional garden section of sweet potatoes this spring so we'll have plenty on hand next winter!! Followed the recipe exactly (except salt). Will leave in water longer next time as I almost burnt them trying to crisp them up under broiler (oops) Thanks a ton for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Perfect! I cut up my potatoes early in the day, dumped them in the water and let them sit for a few hours just so I had one less thing to do, and it worked wonderfully. I think the water-soaking is key in getting a 'crisper' wedge. I'm going to make them again, and try powdered garlic.. I think it might be an easy substitute and spread over the wedges perfectly. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I followed the recipe except for the cayenne pepper - kids may think it's too spicey. I put everything into a zip lock bag and tossed them around until coated. I put the fries on a single layer, making sure they do not touch each other, on non stick Reynolds aluminum foil. I baked as directed. They were yummy. My husband and I ate almost the whole thing. My kids are ambiguous about it, but they are young and hate all vegetables. Thank you for a healthy and not sweet way to prepare sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Fried Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    22%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 217.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes