10 Reviews

Very good! Only change I made was to increase the sesame seeds and use lower sodium soy sauce. I really love sesame seeds, and I think I've had too much regular soy sauce since I've toured Asia! Definitely a keeper. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Vicki. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter May 28, 2010

NOTE REVIEW HAS GLUTEN FREE ALTERNATIVE... Vicki, I thought I reviewed this the first time I made this...never did. We LOVE this chicken recipe! It was the first RZ recipe that my husband rated a 5 star and that is saying something!!! We made it again last night, but with a few changes. We found out a short while back that DH is gluten intolerant, so I subbed 1/2 corn starch and 1/2 white rice flour, with very good results. And for those making it gluten free it is best to use McCormick's sesame seeds unless you know for certain no gluten is used as an anti caking agent in yours. San-J Tamari is a gluten free soy sauce that is very flavorful. I used chicken breast tenders and they were done in 35 minutes. This is a definite keeper. And since I didn't get a review done previously, I can add this to my cookbook set aside for the best picks of 2010 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 13, 2010

Yum! I did adapt the recipe to what I had on hand...which means I used chicken paillards and cooked them on the stovetop. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It was excellent--and took less time. I used a combination of butter and olive oil and cooked at a little too high a heat...I recommend medium and longer rather than medium-high.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT November 03, 2009

Really tasty and quick to put together! I loved the generous quantity of sesame seeds which formed a really nice and crunchy crust. During the latter part of cooking I moved it a bit closer towards the top element to brown the sesame seeds further but managed to burn them a little because I got side-tracked. Therefore my photo doesn't really do the recipe justice but the toasted effect on the seeds did taste wonderful and the chicken was very moist and tender inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J July 13, 2009

This recipe was good, but nothing special. I added some ginger to the flour mixture, but it still wasn't flavorful enough for me. I was also expecting the chicken to be crispy, but it wasn't at all. That probably has something to do with the fact that even though I added some more flour and sesame seeds, it didn't seem to be enough to coat the chicken. The chicken was nice and tender, though, after about 35 minutes in the oven. Thanks for the recipe...I will make this again with a bit more tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
20XCRunner12 January 25, 2009

Yummy, I will make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom September 16, 2008

This was quite good. However, it was too hot to turn the oven on, so I fried the chicken in olive oil and with a little bit of butter mixed in. I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It came out flavorful and tender. I will make this again but I'll bake it in the oven. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for ZWT 3 and the Cafe Zmakk Gypies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 10, 2008

Quick and easy. Baked at 180C. in a fan-forced oven. I used rice flour and gluten-free Japanese soy sauce to make my meal gluten-free. Served with corn on the cob and pan-fried mushrooms. My husband thought his chicken was better than KFC. Photo also to be posted *Reviewed for Aussie NZ Forum Recipe Tag Game*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 12, 2008

Great and easy! Came out juicy and the crispy batter was delicious... served it with stir fry veggies. My bf loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mistress of Tea July 20, 2007

Excellent! Very quick, easy and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gaunser July 16, 2007
Oven Fried Sesame Chicken