44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed this a lot.

I noticed some reviewers said it needed more seasoning and that it wasn't crispy. To address those concerns I seasoned the pork with herbs before breading. I also agree with the reviewer who said she likes to flour the meat before dipping in egg because that makes it stick better. But, in order to address the crunchy concerns, I used corn starch instead of flour. I used Panko bread crumbs that I seasoned. I preheated a cast iron skillet in the oven and used olive oil in place of the butter. I baked it for 15 minutes on each side. My chops came out tasty and the breading was crunchy.

The corn starch, Panko bread crumbs, cast iron skillet and oil in place of butter all contribute to the crunchiness. If you prefer the flavor of butter and still want as much crunch as you can get, use clarified butter.

I'll be making this again. It's relatively easy and less fuss than pan frying.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len November 05, 2012

I made this recipe for my fiance and he loved it! I also followed the suggestions from the other reviewers. I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper, 21 salute seasoning, and with garlic powder. I also floured the meat before dipping it into the batter and seasoned the bread crumbs with the above seasonings. In order to make the meat a bit crispier towards the end of the baking time I used broil options on oven to brown the pork chops a bit. The meat was moist and tender on the inside and nice and crunchy on the outside!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cosmic Girl January 27, 2014

My family loved this!! I didn't have a can of breadcrumbs at hand so I ground up some seasoned croutons in my processor and they did a wonderful job. One bag that I used was garlic/butter flavor and had enough oil in them that I didn't need much butter in the bottom of my dish. I had to cook mine 15min on each side and then put them under the broiler for a couple mins. to get them good and crunchy! Perfect with fried potatoes and steamed broccoli with cheese sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lezleyz October 08, 2012

I lightly seasoned chops with garlic pepper and salt and dusted with corn starch. Let sit as oven preheated with a large cast iron pizza pan and butter. When the oven and pan were hot I breaded the chops as directed using the egg and seasoned bread crumbs (added a little garlic pepper) and baked for 20 minutes turning once. Came out crispy on the outside and moist/done on the inside without all the oiliness of pan frying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsoul51 October 17, 2013

Oh my gosh, my husband and I loved this! The herb seasoned stuffing made a tasty coating for the chops. Since the dry stuffing was pretty chunky, I put it in a zip-lock bag and pounded with a mallet until it was a finer consistency. My pork chops were thick, so I had to cook them for about 30 minutes. The flavor was so good. I served stuffing as a side. This recipe is now at the top of my list of ways to prepare pork chops.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys February 04, 2011

Perfect! I think this is the first recipe I've made that I didn't change at all. I love the fact that these taste fried, without the hassle of standing over a grease splattered stove. The chops turned out juicy and tender. This method is great, and I can't wait to try it using panko and my own seasonings...so many possibilties. Thank you for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely December 16, 2009

Great recipe! <br/><br/>The changes I made are: <br/><br/>I preseasoned the chops with garlic salt and cumin and lightly coated it in flower before dipping it into the egg and milk mix. <br/><br/>I then used Louisiana Fish Fry brand Chicken Fry Batter mix instead of bread crumbs. It had a spicy kick to it. <br/><br/>I also went 12 minutes on each side. <br/><br/>It was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Waywardchef October 26, 2014

Can't believe how easy this was. My first time oven frying chops. Delicious! I too use the cornstarch then egg and breadcrumbs method. Cook time was perfect for my slightly 1/2 inch chops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsRenay Cooks April 16, 2014

I studied recipe and reviews but breading did not stay attached--slipped off--patted breading back on for our dinner. Dredged chops in cornstarch, then liquid, and breaded. I added lots of seasoning to breading to fit our tastes. A cook's prerogative. Sprayed my foil, put down breaded chops and sprayed top of chops, baked 15 minutes, flipped them, and sprayed, baked 15 minutes longer. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 06, 2013

These were absolutely amazing. I did dip them in cornstarch before the egg mixture and I added steak seasoning (aldi's brand) to the egg mixture instead of pepper. So so tasty, oh and I broiled them for a couple minutes at the end of cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcox64485 June 28, 2013
Oven Fried Pork Chops