26 Reviews

This was a great recipe. My only really big complaint is that it took way longer than an hour to make from start to finish. I tweaked the recipe a bit as well. I used fresh herbs instead of dried, omitted the celery (because I didn't have it), added two other kinds of Italian cheeses, and made my own bread crumbs from some leftoever homemade bread I had in the freezer.
Next time I make this recipe, I am going to add black olives and mushrooms to the sauce recipe.
My hubby absolutely loved this dish! I am so excited that I found a new recipe to add to my favorites!
Thank you bunches Rita!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommiesTreats October 27, 2011

I used this recipe as a basis for my eggplant parmesan. I didn't make the sauce listed; and made a roasted pepper tomato sauce instead. This was delicious! Next time I might try Panko breading instead of the seasoned break crumbs then drizzle with a bit of olive oil before baking to crisp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 October 12, 2011

Can't believe I haven't rated this yet since I've been making some variation or another for at least a year. Delicious!!! I always do the eggplant version, but don't always have time to make the sauce. Well received by friends and family either way. Try it, you won't be dissapointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook October 08, 2011

Using Zucchini worked out fabulous! I followed this recipe for the eggplant (using zucchini) and used a from-scratch marinara by mixing pureed oven-roasted tomatoes, onions, & spices with a can of diced toms. Instead of the cheese layer I substituted sprinkling mozzarella, pizzeria (smoked) cheese blend, & parmigiana reggiano cheese. It was a huge hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleybakes January 31, 2010

Nineteen reviewers can't be wrong, this is mouthwatering delicious! My partner came in and exclaimed, "It smells good in here!" Of course it did with the sauce simmering on the stovetop and the eggplant slices browning in the oven. My eggplant weighed 1 pound and with 1/4 inch slices this made two layers in my casserole. It fit perfectly. Like another reviewer I had trouble using the gallon bag to bread my fritters (it worked fine for dusting them with flour, but was too messy with the egg wash), so I put the breadcrumbs in a shallow pie plate to dredge them. I seasoned the breadcrumbs with 1.5 tablespoons of italian seasoning. I put the breaded slices on a baking rack over a sheet pan and sprayed liberally with PAM olive oil spray. Mine took about 20 minutes in a 450F oven and then 5 minutes of broiling. I had a couple fritters leftover that my partner and I both snacked on. Yummy! I did substitute low-fat cottage cheese for the ricotta (personal preference). The recipe is easy to follow and the results are outstanding. Served this with sliced garden tomatoes and cantelope. Thank you, Rita, for sharing this gem!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois September 28, 2009

This is sooo good. My family really enjoyed it. I can't believe it only has 16 reviews. It is somewhat labor intensive and I used a can of sauce instead of making my own. I also only used 1 cup of breadcrumbs and forgot to add the parmesan cheese. And for some reason it took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish. But it was good. My daughter and I almost overfilled ourselves on the baked eggplant alone with some sauce. And everyone ate the finished dish which is amazing. Thank you for a great family veggie recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2kiddos January 07, 2009

You got it!I love making my zucchini and eggplant this way.The only thing I do different I guess old habits never die, is I soak the eggplant at least 15 min. in a little salt water to extract the bitterness. Learned that from the old Grandmas... But I can't stop eating this dish it's a favorite of my family's as well! I should have been Italian I beat my dh hands down in Italian foods! Love them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitter April 23, 2004

This was really delicious! I made a few changes because I ran out of a) time and b) ingredients. I used a slightly doctored up canned tomato sauce and left off the ricotta altogether. It was still wonderful. Served with my Unbelievable Ceaser Dressing over romaine lettuce and a vegetable soup. Thanks Rita for another winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl April 23, 2004

Delicious, this recipe is similar to the one I have used for years. I love the eggplant baked in the oven in stead of frying it.I have fixed the eggplant in the oven and froze it for later use in making eggplant Parmesan.The sauce is very flavorful, will have to made it using Zucchini this summer when I have lots of zucchini. Thank you for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 27, 2003

Bob and I love eggplant and make casseroles, soups, etc with it. I tried this recipe tonight. We each took a handful and then threw it out. It was awful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pineapplelady September 12, 2011
Oven Fried Eggplant or and Zucchini Parmesan