Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Fried Eggplant Cutlets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Fried Eggplant Cutlets

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2012

      I wasn't planning on making eggplant for dinner tonight until I saw some beauties at the farmer's market this afternoon :-)
      I was looking for a "different" recipe instead of frying it. Being Italian, and used to "oil frying" eggplant for for many dishes, I decided to give this a try. With the exception of adding the lemon juice and water, this recipe is identical to a recipe I found eons ago for "oven fried chicken breasts" on the back of a Hellmann's Mayo jar.
      I gave it a try, and it worked very well! I lined my cookie sheet with heavy duty tin foil (I've gotten lazy in my old age, this way I won't have to wash the pan ;-) ) Then I lightly oiled the foil (you know, put some oil on a half piece of paper towel and wipe it around the pan/foil). I followed the recipe exactly (with one slight change, I sliced the eggplant into 1/4 inch strips - like you would for potato fries), adding the lemon and water to the mayo as per the recipe. The "oven fried" eggplant turned out wonderfully! I used them as a side veggie with steak pizzaiola (Beef or Veal alla Pizzaiola).
      The next time I make my eggplant Parmesan, I will use this "oven fried" method instead of oil frying the eggplant slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Hi there! I love eggplant. I make it the old Italian way, cuz that is the way I was taught to make it by a lovely lady who has passed away...It is very delicious, but yours sounds most interesting and less fattening and less mess! I will give it a go when my eggplants are ready this summer! I always set my egg plant slices on the counter and salt them on each side to take out the bitterness. Less sharpness in taste. That is the old Italian way! Just a suggestion I thought you might want to try! :) Thank you for the recipe! Jelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      We loved these! Very flavorful and easy to prepare. Even my husband who says he doesn't like eggplant said he loved this recipe. I can't wait to make them again. Thanks so much for sharing it with us, Donnie27.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This was a tasty eggplant dish; every similar to one I have on Zaar. I think the suggestion to salt them and let them sit for a while is a good one. I'll try that next time. Made for Pick A Chef, 2010. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This was really delicious, and pretty guilt-free, too! My husband actually refuses to eat eggplant in any of its many forms, but when I hid it within this crunchy coating, it disappeared (& the next day, even the leftovers were gone)! Made exactly as written, though I did have to cook it much longer than stated in order to fully crisp & brown the coating--maybe 10-12 minutes per side. This would be a terrific side to a red-sauce pasta dish, and is a great way to look like you slaved in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      I made this tonight and it was yummy. I like the tanginess from the mayo and lemon juice. I did cook it a little longer, until each side was golden brown.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I'm the olny one who eats EP so I can try all sorts of things! I used cheddar cheese this time, I think it would be better with the parmesan or romano as stated in the original recipe. I did have trouble with the coating sticking to the dish when I turned the first piece with tongs and then I remembered that the recipe said to turn with a spatula...duh! the rest were turned successfully and both sides were crispy and crunchy! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      This is by far the WORST Eggplant Parmesan recipe I have ever tried. The breading all stuck to the pan, despite the fact that I sprayed the pan with oil. If you want to make breaded EP I would recommend going with a recipe that calls for dipping the eggplant in a egg-based coating - NOT the mayonnaise one. The cooking time on this is way off as well. I have made my share of Eggplant Parmesan, so I know what I am talking about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Fried Eggplant Cutlets

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.3
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    39%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 7.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 250.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites