294 Reviews

I have mixed feelings about this recipe, based on personal preference and tradition. It tasted good and was super simple to make. This method of making "fried" eggplant cutlets was easier, less mess and obviously healthier. I would recommend letting the eggplant rest on the pan for at least 10-15 minutes once it has come out of the oven. All in all, a very good alternative to the traditional preparation, especially for those who are health conscious or are looking to spend less time and fuss in the kitchen.

However (based on my own family's taste), for making Eggplant Parmigiana or for crispy cutlets that can be handled or eaten immediately after cooking, these cutlets just can't hold up. Traditional pan-fried cutlets have a taste and texture that can't be beat BUT are not as healthy as this recipe. The texture of this preparation doesn't seem quite cooked through even though it definitely is. Pan-fried eggplant has a crunchy outer coating and an almost creamy interior. This recipe produces a whole different "mouth feel" than pan-fried eggplant. When using these eggplant cutlets in Eggplant Parm or any layered application, compared to the pan-fried version, these have a "raw" taste to the breadcrumbs and make for a sandy texture because the crumbs absorb all of the moisture in the sauce. You will need to have extra sauce on the side. I increased my sauce in an Eggplant Parm recipe by 50% and it still needed sauce on the side. The breadcrumbs can't hold up to the sauce like fried cutlets can.

If you remove the skin from eggplant before cooking, as many Italian-American traditional recipes do, cut your eggplant at least 1/2" thick or your cutlets will fall apart when oven-fried.

This was a good recipe. Thanks for posting it.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter October 04, 2010

So easy, yet so good. 1/2 inch was just the right thickness for the slices to end up with a lightly crispy crust and a soft center. I did have trouble with mine sticking to the pan, despite oiling it generously. After baking, I topped each slice with some sliced garden tomatoes which had been sitting in a bit of olive oil and chopped basil; then a slice of provelogne cheese. I turned off the oven, but put the whole pan back in to melt the cheese. To serve, I stacked 2 slices on each plate and accompanied it with a bowl of cold Lebanese Cucumber Soup. Yum!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews August 06, 2010

This is by far the best eggplant recipe I have ever tried. It came out of the oven crispy on the outside, creamy on the inside. I peeled my eggplant, personal preference. Loved that it was not oily or soggy. YUM, try this one kids!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff April 18, 2004

EXCELLENT recipe! I am trying to lose a few pounds and this recipe will become a mainstay. I served it with marinara sauce and I didn't use the cooking spray since I just baked it on parchment paper (it didn't stick). Great non-greasy way to fix eggplant since eggplant tends to absorb SO much oil if you use ol...i just added a bunch of herbs to the bread crumbs and it was fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock June 10, 2003

I'm VERY impressed with this technique to get low-fat "fried" eggplant. The panko crumb mixture sticks easily to the slices. After baking, the slices are brown and very crunchy, so they feel as if they are fried. I'm topping my "fried" eggplant with fresh mozzarella slices and tomato sauce - bake another 10 minutes - and it turns into a wonderful Eggplant Parmesan dinner.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva October 11, 2011

5 stars without a doubt! This turned out perfectly. It was so good that my husband and daughter requested this dish the very next day. Since gluten is an issue with husband, I used Lay's lightly salted potato chips intstead of the bread crumbs.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
someday2005 September 30, 2010

Excellent!! My husband and I are big fried eggplant fans, but I was never big on the greasy overload from the excess oil the eggplant soaked up. These were great. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo since I didn't have any fat free mayo on hand, and my husband and I agreed we really liked the tangy zip that the Miracle Whip added. I served them plain with a vegetable medley of sauteed fresh green beans, zuchinni, Vidalia onions, basil, garlic and olive oil as the side dish. The meal was excellent. Thanks for the post!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
indywells June 17, 2003

I love this recipe! I have made it twice now, and my hubby, who wasn't sure he "liked" eggplant, loves it! The only thing I did different was, I used Panko Japanese breadcrumbs, instead of the conventional breadcrumbs, and it makes the slices of eggplant a little more crunchy. I agree with another review, to let the eggplant rest in the pan for at least 10 minutes after it is taken out of the oven. Be sure to cook the 12 minutes and then flip the eggplant, that will give you great success.Enjoy!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redpony2011 June 27, 2012

I agree with a previous reviewer, when I first read that I was suppose to spread mayo on eggplant I balked a little. The recipe came out wonderful however. I did have to spray the actual eggplant slices rather than the cooking sheet to get the browning effect, and the mayo and batter fall off the skin if you do not peal the eggplant first. Thanks for the great spin on eggplant. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KD boo-do July 12, 2010

Excellent recipe.They came out golden with just a nice crunch on the outside but, moist and tender inside.By the way the given nutri- tion facts reads only 2 on the weigh watcher's calculator, a must if one is trying to control or reduce is weight.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mozarth622 December 03, 2003
Oven Fried Eggplant (Aubergine)