16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I had enough chicken to do two casserole dishes of it (small dishes), and in one, I followed the recipe exactly, and in the other, I sprayed the chicken with cooking spray rather than coating in melted butter before baking, then followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Both pans of chicken were excellent, moist, and tasty (the sauce is just wonderful on biscuits, too). The one coated in the butter yielded crispier, slightly richer chicken, but the other was really good, too, and might be an option for those watching fat/calories. This recipe is extremely easy, unbelievably moist, and well, just delicious! I'm so glad it's added to my repertoire - thanks, Dreamgoddess!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette June 27, 2003

I found this recipe here years ago and it's a staple in my family. They ask for it once a week! My chicken turns out crispy every time, and I always cook in a glass dish. I also always double the sauce amount. We usually just do breasts and drumsticks...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellewynne February 21, 2010

I had very mixed reviews on this one. Probably because it's quite different from the things I usually make. It was quick, simple and the chicken came out really moist. I cut the butter back to a 1/2 cup total and it was still swimming in butter. I think you could easily cut the butter in half without sacrificing the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night February 18, 2012

This is a great recipe! You got it from Southern Living, 1985.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig August 11, 2010

Since I joined Zaar, my husband constantly chortles and calls me World Wide on the Web. Just not funny. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 08, 2010

I wasn't a big fan of this. There was too much butter. I think it overpowered the dish. Also, i didn't get a very crispy skin on the chicken. But the pan was a mess. I still can't get it clean. The chicken was however very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amievv821 August 03, 2008

I found this chicken to be a little to sweet for my taste, however my children LOVED it! They asked for more! They usually don't eat their chicken. The chicken was not really crispy like I imagined it would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking is my hobby July 29, 2007

This was quite nice. I used two skinless-bone in breasts. I reduced the temp to 375* and cooked for the full hour as stated. It didn't crisp up, but that may be because there was no skin, and I think maybe the dish was too deep. I did find it a little dry, but I think reducing the cooking time would solve that, seeing as I only had two pieces. I like the flavour of the sauce as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 13, 2007

I was going to make an oven fried recipe with Bisquick and realized I was out, so I chose this. I chose well since this was just as easy and I am sure it was every bit as good. I used four small breasts so I used less butter on the bottom (about 3-4 tablespoons). Luckily, I had saved some extra sauce because all of a sudden my sauce started to burn in the pan! I quickly put the chicken in a clean pan and put the reserved sauce on and it was good as new. I served with stuffing and orange jello. This reminded me a lot of lemon chicken in a restaurant, too. Thanks Dreamgoddess, for posting this easy and fun to make recipe. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado April 09, 2007
Oven Fried Chicken With Honey Butter Sauce I