811 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved these! So good and you can play around with reduced fat/fat free ingredients if you want.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebe00 November 07, 2012

These were soooo good! I used a chopped onion. I used margarine to brush the tops and bottoms with and they turned out nice and crispy. I cut them in half to eat. I put sour cream with chives and some more cheddar cheese on top of them and ate them like a sandwich. Yummmm! A keeper for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 June 14, 2012

This turned out great on our first go. We steamed our own chicken on the stove, seasoning it with garlic salt with basil and Accent. Before throwing it on the stove we chopped it up in small chunks, and shredded them after they cooked.
After they finished cooking I threw some shredded cheese on top of them and put them back in the oven for two minutes, melting it on top.
We'll definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scubab May 19, 2012

Due to a lack of communication, we had multiple rotisserie chickens in the fridge. 1.5x'd this to serve 5. Used Silver Palate Gazpacho salsa and 4 cheese Mexican cheese. Served with chopped tomatoes, avocado chunks, and sour cream. Never had 'real' chimichangas so can't compare, but these were great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc May 12, 2012

OMG!! This was freaking amazing!!! I have to admit I totally made this vegetarian, but whoever thought of throwing a bit of oil on a flour tortilla could be so good!! I made a crazy concoction of corn, beans, chilies, onions, pepper and salsa. Followed the directions but used olive oil. I seriously had my oven on for 3 hours tonight. Slowly everyone kept coming home at different times and tried this chimichanga and had to have one. I'm 15 minutes away from Mexico and we have the best Mexican food around, but this is a serious contender!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chilijam May 09, 2012

I was hesitant about baking these in the oven, but they were so yummy! I actually used olive oil on the tortillas and they were perfectly crispy! My whole family loved this recipe and I plan on sharing it soon with friends! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I-heart-good-food April 17, 2012

This was a nice change to the tacos we usually have. Everyone really loved them. Next time I think I will brush with olive oil instead of margarine to see if they crisp up more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katersmom February 08, 2012

5 stars for big flavor in such an easy recipe! I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the meat mixture and used olive oil instead of margarine to brush the outside. Even my "it's gotta be a beef burrito" DH loved this recipe! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun Kitchen February 07, 2012

This is soooo good! gy onions so I used about 1 tsp of onion powder, and added a little shake of garlic powder. I added a can of black beans, about 1 cup of frozen corn, and a 4 oz can of green chilies. Since im at 9,000 ft above sea level, things dry out quicker, so I added about 1/3 cup of Taco Bell Mild Sauce. About 5 mins before it was done, i added some sliced black olives and shredded cheese also to the top. This is so amazing, and plan on making this when my mom comes and visits in a couple weeks. :) Oh yeah, and used olive oil instead of margarine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coloradomommy85 January 18, 2012

Yummy sounds heard round the table! Easy and delish. Thank you Miss Annie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseytocali December 18, 2011
Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas