Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    804 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 804

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2002

      We live in New Mexico and I can definitely say that these are restaurant quality chimichangas! Everything turned out wonderful. I added a roma tomato to the mixture as well as some garlic salt and pepper. These are so good that we agreed to put them on our weekly menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      What a wonderful, healthy dish! Thumbs up, around the table. "Yummy little bundles," said my mother. "Chimichangas have to be fried," said my son before lunch, then "oh man, these are REALLY good!!!!" The only change I made was using olive oil instead of margarine to brush the shells in the oven. Came out crisp, just like fried!Thanks ever so much for giving me a new addition to my repetoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      This was quick and tasty, but I found the tortillas a bit dry-maybe the brand I used was the problem. I would LOVE the filling in tacos with lettuce, cheese and sour dream on top. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Excellent! I used canned chicken and added more salsa and more cheese to the filling. Topped with cheese and black olives during the last few minutes of cooking (it took more like 40 minutes for me). Put some sour cream on top (after they were cooked) and used the sauce from "Baked Chicken Chimichangas" Baked Chicken Chimichangas on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Updating my 2009 review -- I've made this with about every leftover we've had -- meatballs, broken into pieces; chicken, pork, canned roast beef. It never fails to make a wonderful meal. Do add extra seasonings (cilantro, cumin, garlic powder). My big change -- they leak onto the cookie sheet, so now fold the corners up and over, and secure with two toothpicks -- spray the cookie sheet with Pam, and brush the tops with olive oil. No more leaky chimis! Thanks again for posting this recipe -- it really is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      My boyfriend is a picky eater, so telling him I was making chimichangas might have been a mistake at first. He wanted to know what a Chimi was, how it was made, etc.. Needless to say, I was scared he'd hate it. He told me that he "didn't like that they are square", so I obliged and rolled half of them. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but instead of cooking my own chicken I used a can of hormel chicken and I also added sliced jalapenos to the mixture. I baked mine at 400 for 30min and made a cilantro/garlic/sour cream mixture to top my "square" chimis. I thought they were fantastic and my boyfriend literally said "this is the best f****ing meal you've ever made." If that's not a rave review, I'm not sure what is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      These are so delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed the flavor and texture. I cooked my chicken breast in a crockpot with the salsa and cumin, then shredded for the chimichangas. I am definitely passing this recipe on to friends and family and adding it to my cookbook. Thank you so much for such an easy and great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This was great! I think added black beans would make this even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Yeah! A chimichanga recipe that really does rival the restaurant ones! I made exactly as the recipe states, using chix from a grocery cooked whole chicken. I basted the tops of our tortillas with butter, since its easier to measure stick butter over the tub margarine I have. They baked up crispy and even our picky 8 year old enjoyed with sour cream. I will add some garlic and maybe something to make the filling a little creamier next time, like possibly cream cheese. I will also shred the chix, not chop to have it be more like restaurant style. Thanks for a healthy TASTY alternative!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Awesome recipe!!! A great way to use up leftover chicken. I also add corn, beans (refried or whole), and whatever else I may have in the fridge. The kids love helping make them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      I have made this several times now and its still a house favorite. I love using this recipe with the remainder of the store bought chickens. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      WOW! Is all I can say, My husband and Mother in-law loved them and they are more meat and potatoes type people. My husband actually said I think this is my new favorite meal, Myself I loved loved them, I didn't stray too much from the recipe except I added about 1 cup of corn and 1 cup of black beans, every thing else I kept the same, and when I make them again I won't change a thing, These were Million stars for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Amazing is all I can say! :d I put LOTS of butter on my tortillas before baking them, & it made them a little crunchy, which I liked! I couldn't believe how good these turned out. I will be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I love these! I double the recipe and add a can of black beans. Then I like mine full so I use about a half cup of filling in each. We have a small family and while I do enjoy cooking there is plenty of nights that I just want something easy so I make these one night bake only what we eat and put the rest on a pan and freeze individually. Once frozen I put in a big baggy and when I'm lazy I grab an uncooked chimichanga out of the freezer brush with melted butter and cook just like I would a freshly made one. With the doubled recipe and 1/2 cup filling I still end up with 12 chimichangas. Thanks to the poster for making my life a little easier while still eating great food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      These turned out excellent, I love the fact that their oven-baked as opposed to deep-fried; and they taste great too!
      I brushed some corn oil on the shell to get crispy, and added some re-fried beans and spanish rice to the filling to make it fuller (I like my chimichanga double-stuffed).
      A great recipe, easy to make, I will definately use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      These were very GOOD! I used cumin, salsa, black beans,and a little Italian seasoning (didn't have oregano, or onions) I also brushed them with olive oil instead of butter. Served them with sour cream and salsa. My son who doesn't care for chicken (much) said they were good before he found out they were made with chicken!! I also had my chicken already cooked in a pressure cooker and saw this recipe and just threw them together! I will definitely make them again with black beans in them! Thanks for sharing ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Super easy and awesome. I added onion, red pepper and black beans to the filling, skipped brushing them with butter and served them with greek yogurt instead of sour cream, tomatoes and black olives. Quick, healthy and REALLY yummy! Can't beat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I gave this recipe the full 5 stars for it's ease and passing the taste test of my entire family! In addition to making the chicken ones, I used up some left over ground beef for some beef chimis too. My young boys loved those. I did end up covering them w/aluminum foil the last half of cooking time as they were getting too brown on the edges. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Very Good! The hubby loved it and so did I. It's just the 2 of us, it made plenty for dinner and enough for left overs for lunch! The only thing I changed is that I didn't have any green onions so I sub. 1 small onion finely chopped and it tasted just fine. Also the crunch is just wonderful on these. Will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      These are fantastic. It's a really delicious meal that's quick and easy to make. It only takes about 20 minutes of prep work, so it can be on the table in under an hour. Or put together all the ingredients the night before and leave it in the fridge. Spend 5 minutes rolling the tortillas when you get home from work and by the time you've changed and poured a glass of wine, it's ready!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 41

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (893 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.9
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    42%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 717.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites