811 Reviews

We live in New Mexico and I can definitely say that these are restaurant quality chimichangas! Everything turned out wonderful. I added a roma tomato to the mixture as well as some garlic salt and pepper. These are so good that we agreed to put them on our weekly menu!

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lance and Genna November 22, 2002

What a wonderful, healthy dish! Thumbs up, around the table. "Yummy little bundles," said my mother. "Chimichangas have to be fried," said my son before lunch, then "oh man, these are REALLY good!!!!" The only change I made was using olive oil instead of margarine to brush the shells in the oven. Came out crisp, just like fried!Thanks ever so much for giving me a new addition to my repetoire!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Lee April 07, 2003

This was quick and tasty, but I found the tortillas a bit dry-maybe the brand I used was the problem. I would LOVE the filling in tacos with lettuce, cheese and sour dream on top. Yum.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 16, 2002

Excellent! I used canned chicken and added more salsa and more cheese to the filling. Topped with cheese and black olives during the last few minutes of cooking (it took more like 40 minutes for me). Put some sour cream on top (after they were cooked) and used the sauce from "Baked Chicken Chimichangas" Baked Chicken Chimichangas on this site.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster February 24, 2011

Updating my 2009 review -- I've made this with about every leftover we've had -- meatballs, broken into pieces; chicken, pork, canned roast beef. It never fails to make a wonderful meal. Do add extra seasonings (cilantro, cumin, garlic powder). My big change -- they leak onto the cookie sheet, so now fold the corners up and over, and secure with two toothpicks -- spray the cookie sheet with Pam, and brush the tops with olive oil. No more leaky chimis! Thanks again for posting this recipe -- it really is a winner.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook October 09, 2011

My boyfriend is a picky eater, so telling him I was making chimichangas might have been a mistake at first. He wanted to know what a Chimi was, how it was made, etc.. Needless to say, I was scared he'd hate it. He told me that he "didn't like that they are square", so I obliged and rolled half of them. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but instead of cooking my own chicken I used a can of hormel chicken and I also added sliced jalapenos to the mixture. I baked mine at 400 for 30min and made a cilantro/garlic/sour cream mixture to top my "square" chimis. I thought they were fantastic and my boyfriend literally said "this is the best f****ing meal you've ever made." If that's not a rave review, I'm not sure what is.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skeletori January 18, 2011

These are so delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed the flavor and texture. I cooked my chicken breast in a crockpot with the salsa and cumin, then shredded for the chimichangas. I am definitely passing this recipe on to friends and family and adding it to my cookbook. Thank you so much for such an easy and great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter March 01, 2011

This was great! I think added black beans would make this even better.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ytee August 01, 2010

Yeah! A chimichanga recipe that really does rival the restaurant ones! I made exactly as the recipe states, using chix from a grocery cooked whole chicken. I basted the tops of our tortillas with butter, since its easier to measure stick butter over the tub margarine I have. They baked up crispy and even our picky 8 year old enjoyed with sour cream. I will add some garlic and maybe something to make the filling a little creamier next time, like possibly cream cheese. I will also shred the chix, not chop to have it be more like restaurant style. Thanks for a healthy TASTY alternative!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. September 01, 2011

Awesome recipe!!! A great way to use up leftover chicken. I also add corn, beans (refried or whole), and whatever else I may have in the fridge. The kids love helping make them too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josiemex August 30, 2011
Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas