22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is good, but add a little more of the spices.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Kaczmarek March 02, 2001

I gave this 5 stars. I love this chicken. The recipe I have is a bit different it's called Mother's Oven Fried Chicken it's from the Picnic Cookbook. Ingredients are the same but a few different amounts. My copy is 1/2 cup butter, and 1 cup flour. My copy says oven temp is 375. The bake time is 30 minutes then flip and bake another 30-45 minutes. Thanks for posting a great recipe! christine (internetnut)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 02, 2007

I did what another reviewer suggested and added more paprika and salt, and used boneless, skinless chicken breast. I turned the temp. down to 375 to cook with cheesy potatos. This was excellent! Happy Belly Food!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb.kuron October 13, 2009

I've used this recipe for years for our chicken wings. I'm sure this is how the original was written but I use a LOT more paprika in mine, (3tbsp per 1 cup of flour). The flour mixture keeps well too so if you make lots the first time, you won't have to make it up fresh everytime. Highly recommend this and thanks for posting. Update: I just noticed that this recipe doesn't call for oil but the one I use calls for a 1/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of oil heated in oven until sizzling. Also chicken should be cooked skin side down for 25 mins, turned and oven reduced to 375 for another 15 mins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst March 28, 2009

Nice and easy way to cook chicken, but it made a mess in my oven. Should the dish been covered?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marc'sMom April 13, 2006

All I added to this was some garlic into the flour mix and done. Easiest fried chicken ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna A. September 22, 2014

This is a wonderful, easy way to bake chicken. We used boneless, skinless breasts and only cooked them about 30 minutes total (flipped after 15 minutes). Very nice, moist chicken. So easy...my husband fixed dinner tonight! Thanks ~ we will definitely use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter October 06, 2011

This chicken is really good for being oven-fried. It almost reminds me of Tyson chicken breast fillets. Since use boneless chicken breasts and pound them before I cook them, I've found that, for me, it's best to only cook them for fifteen minutes on each side so it doesn't get too dry. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire September 19, 2011

Yum! What a nice simple recipe for oven fried chicken. I used legs and thighs and had a great meal. Thanks LH for a nice keeper. Made for Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 21, 2011

Wow!! This recipe really delivers the crunch of fried chicken. Instead of melting butter in the baking pan, though, I poured the butter over the pieces in a bowl, put the pieces into the dry mix, and then put them on a broiler pan to bake. I also added some onion powder to the mix. I think next time I may try panko crumbs instead of flour to really kick up the crunch factor. What I like about this preparation is that you get crunchy chicken without the leftover smell of cooking oil in the house after frying foods. Thanks, LH, for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph. April 22, 2010
Oven Fried Chicken