Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Fried Buttermilk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Fried Buttermilk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2014

      I was in the mood for good comfort food and this recipe fit the bill. My thighs came out crispy on the outside and moist and tender inside. Thanks for sharing this nice keeper. Made for What's on the Menu tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      I used chicken thighs and let them soak in buttermilk and then i used bread crumbs , and backed it in the oven for 2 hours on 300 degrees, and it was so good it fell off the bone, cooked it in the butter milk , deff. make again had with veg, and home made fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Really good! Chicken is extremely moist & rich-tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Wonderful dinner. I used Substitute for Buttermilk for my buttermilk and let the chicken pieces steep for about 4 hours. I quartered a 2K (4lb+) chicken so I had 2 marylands (drumstick and thigh) and 2 breasts with wings attached. I gave them a coat in the flour mix (using flour, paprika, freshly ground salt and pepper) about an hour before cooking and then while butter was melting I gave them a second coat in the flour and continued as per recipe and the result was a crispy skinned and moist chicken. Served with cheesy scalloped potatoes and steamed vegetable. Thank you RecipeNut, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #26 - March 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Followed the recipe almost to a Tee. But soaked chicken in buttermilk for three hours and then tossed in the flour mixture in a paper bag to ease mess. Preheated racks in hot oven in 12X14 oven pan and sprayed with Pam Butter spray... turned in 20 minutes and sprayed other side. Last five minutes used broiler. Outstanding! Thanks Recipe Nut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Served this at a dinner party and had some really good cooks there. They loved this chicken. It is excellent! I did let the chicken soak in the butterbilk for a couple of hours but that was the only difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      This came out extremely dry (almost burnt), without much taste. I would suggest maybe cutting the baking time to 15-20 min. a side, and checking it often. Maybe putting some of the butter on top of the chicken would have helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2002

      If you have trouble browning the chicken in your oven, try turning your broiler on for a few minutes on each side,. That should do it ; ) Thank you so much for the review

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      the chicken had a wonderful taste and I liked the idea that I didn't have to fry it. But I couldn't get it brown enough to satisfy family, any ideas on making it browner. Oh, and since my chicken was large I had to cook it longer, but it still didn't get brown. I like the receipe, I just need to know how to get it crisper and browner.Thanks for your posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Fried Buttermilk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.5
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    49%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 57.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 130.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes