Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven French Fries

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2006

      These were outstanding. I use 5 russet potatoes cut into strips, and 1 tsp of lawyers seasoning salt, 1 tsp of garlic powder, fresh ground pepper mixed with the 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I baked them for 40 minutes at 400 degrees and they came out just perfect!! I will definatley make these again and again. I think that these would be great with melted chedder and monterey jack cheese on top. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I did four potatoes and cooked at 400 deg. for forty minutes. I should have put them under the broiler for a few minutes to crispy them up. They were great and will cook them often. Update: I did add 1 t. seasoned salt, 1 t. garlic powder and fresh gr. pepper. Still love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      These are soooo good! My family has officially given up frozen french fries after discovering how easy it is to make our own! The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly, only I used russet potatoes instead of yukon gold. The second time I made these, I again used russet potates, and I added about a 1/2 tsp of paprika, oregano, black pepper, and garlic powder. They turned out great! I did increase the oven temp and baking time to 400 degrees and about 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      These were excellent. I used just a plain white potato that I had in my fridge. I soaked them the first time for about 20 minutes, then drained out that water and added fresh water and left them for about another 20 min. Into the oil I mixed about a 1/4 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of salt. It took them close to 40 min at 400 deg to cook, but they were awesome!! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      These were really good. I upped the temperature to 425 and they came out crispy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Perfect! These are amazing, I used russet potatoes with olive oil and course sea salt. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I really liked it, I had to bake for longer than directed. It made me feel like eating french fries is totally allowable!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Just wanted to add my compliments to Graybert for such a fine recipe. I cooked the potatoes at 400 for 40 minutes, turning once half-way through, and they came out wonderful. I did wedges, about 3/4" thick. They were soft inside, not crunch outside but nicely browned. Very good recipe. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      A favorite recipe for me. This was posted in 2002 and the non-stick foil wasn't around then. I use the Reynolds Non-stick and it works perfectely every time. I used russet potatoes and kosher salt. Baked these babies at 425º for 20 minutes. Honestly, they are so close to fried potatoes. Definately a recipe I will use again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Lunch for a couple of the guys I work with, before we headed off for a midnight shift. The method was wonderful, crisp, perfectly done. I did cut mine a bit thicker, but not much and I did use a blend of cumin and chili powder. It is my favorite seasoning with fries. But salt and pepper would of been just fine. It didn't change how the fries turned out. My one friend has to have ranch for dipping, but I made a simple garlic basil aioli for the rest of us. The fries were crisp tender but I did cook at 400, 350 was too low for me. I cooked 30 minutes until crisp, but I did cut mine a bit thicker than the recipe stated so I added the extra 5 minutes. Great easy recipe, will definitely make again, easy, NO frying which I love, but very tender and crisp. FYI, I also used russets, since I had them in the fridge. But I think either russets or yukons would work equally as well. Went great with our BLT's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I was cruising the reviews yesterday and came across this recipe. Decided to give it a trial run as a side to the leftovers I was planning for supper. I used six smallish russets cut into french fry like strips. Followed the recipe exactly except for increasing the bake time and temp to 40 minutes and 400 degrees as reviews suggested. I got to eat about four, DH ate all the rest! They came out great. Next time I might even cut them a little thicker for more of the soft insides. Oh! I forgot, I put the cut fries into a bowl of ice water to rinse, then drained and dried them on a kitchen towel. Very easy, I'll make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      These were very tasty, and I love that they were baked rather than fried. Watch the use of Pam spray. I didn't use a lot on the first pan and they stuck a bit. Next round I added more & things were much easier. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      These were awesome! (I don't deep fry anything, so never considered homeade fries before.) I was interested in it because I liked the idea of using olive oil, which is the healthiest of oils. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers about draining them well and cooking them longer. Mine cooked for about 35-40 minutes and were slightly crispy outside and tender inside. Also, I kept the leftovers in the fridge and reheated them later and they were delicious too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      These french fries were pretty good, but I like my french fries crispier. Next time I will make sure I drain them well and cook them at 375 degrees and maybe a little longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      These were really good. I took Mrs. DJ's advice and added 1 tsp. seasoning salt, 1 tsp. garlic powder, pepper and tossed them in 2 TBSP olive oil. I baked them for 40 minutes at 400 degrees

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      We couldn't get over how simple and delicious these were. I soaked them for about 15 minutes and then spun them in a salad spinner to dry them off. I set the oven to 425 and cooked them for 40 minutes to get them crispy. They were perfect.

      The funny thing is that this is exactly how I roast all kinds of veggies on a regular basis (using the Ukrainian spice mix from the Chicago Spice House - yum) - I just never thought to do potatoes in the same way. Well - I'll never do French Fries in another way. Best part of all...my kids ate them. This is the first potato they've eaten that doesn't come from a drive-thru or not loaded with butter and sour cream! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I don't know what went wrong... whether it was user error or a problem with the recipe... but I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with fries that were still ridiculously soggy, even after an extended cooking time (40 minutes), and they had turned GRAY (?!?); Moved them to the stove to try and crisp them up. They tasted pretty good once done, but it was a little hard to get over the color. I'm not sure I'll be trying this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Hmmmm....400* for 40 minutes and I still had soft, squishy french fries. Not so great - the kids didn't even chow them down. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      These tasted delicious! The only problem was the cooking time. I cooked them at 350 for 35 minutes and they were still somewhat mushy so I flipped them, upped the heat to 400 and cooked for 10 more minutes. I think next time I would just cook at a higher heat to begin with. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.3
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    12%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes