Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Dried Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Dried Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2003

      I have made 3 trays of this recipe and am well stocked for the winter. I mixed the oil. squeezed garlic, oregano & oil in a plastic bag then threw in the tomatoes to coat them. Baked for 2 hours and left in the oven until it was completely cool. I have just done a whole tray of GREEN tomatoes and although they have a different flavor from the ripe tomatoes it is very pleasing and I can think of a dozen ways of using them including bruchettas, sauces, salads etc etc. What a before the frost garden saver!!! Thanks Mirjam this is a winner I am still picking green tomatoes from the garden

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      WOW! what amazing flavor these have! I added more garlic because I love it, the smell as this was cooking the first hour was the most amazing! I did let them sit all night in the oven and they are beautiful BUT next time after the first hour I am tossing these beauties with some linguini and parmesan cheese and eating them right then and there! I urge you to try these I was lucky and have a huge amount of tomatoes, but I would go out and buy them just to make this WONDERFUL recipe... thank you so much Mirjam:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      After 1 hour, they were still juicy, so I let them go another hour. My taste tester says that they reminded him of eating pizza without the crust. He especially liked the "crunchy bits" - roasted garlic. I used Juliette cherry tomatoes - a type of minature plum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This sounds very similar to a recipe that I just made yesterday. The tomatoes taste amazing prepared this way. I used regular tomatoes cut into quarters, drizzled with olive oil, salt and pepper mixture. After they were done I packed them in jars with olive oil and put them in the refrigerator. Not only will I have great tomatoes, but the olive oil will be wonderful, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      Well, I tried this recipe but I made a mistake and cooked the tomatoes at 225 C instead of F, because it wasn't specified in the directions. It didn't seem to matter that much because after an hour the vast majority of the tomatoes looked perfect. A few were burnt, but those seemed to only be the ones that were placed face down on the tray. The flavour is incredibly intense, but I can see these making a fabulous tomato sauce in the middle of winter. Thanks for a great recipe Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Great, easy recipe. I also kept the tomatoes in the oven for an hour longer. I used ripe roma tomatoes ( as that is is what I had). Excellent use for extra garden fruits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      WOW!!! These little gems BURST with flavor!!! It is so easy to prepare these, pop them in the oven (I also let them go for 2 hrs), and bag them for the freezer (if you get that far)! We are looking forward to pulling these out of the deep freeze come this winter when it is bitter cold outside...what a treat that will be! Now instead of DREADING going out to pick cherry tomatoes, we are waiting on it to produce more to pick!! THAT'S a FIRST!! Great recipe Mirj, thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      This recipe is a delicious way to use up excess tomatoes from our garden! I am baking the tomatoes according to the recipe and after the one to two hours is up, I whiz them in the blender and have the bestest, freshest tasting pasta sauce in town! Hubby loves it...and he is not a pasta fan! Must be patient enough to wait overnight with one of the batches and see what the original recipe tastes like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      This was great!! I actually used normal big tomatoes and cut them down to 6 pieces each. Then I mixed the it up with the garlic (used 2 heads instead of 2 cloves, love garlic), basil, oregano, salt, pepper, and olive oil. They went into the oven for 2 hours, and then I turned the oven off and left it in there overnight. The smell is amazing, but it's nothing compared to the taste. This is coming from someone who usually doesn't fancy tomatoes. It went really well with a simple ham, cheese and tomato sandwich. I love it so much, I did a second batch, and i too blended it up, and it made a great pasta sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      These are wonderful! The aroma while baking is out of this world. I used Juliette tomatoes, fresh herbs and garlic from my garden. I baked them for 2 hours before turning the oven off, and in the morning they were still moist so I baked one more hour. I was out of parchment paper, so maybe if I had used it that would have absorbed some of the excess moisture. Regardless, they turned out great. Now I can make all those recipes that call for sun-dried tomatoes and not have to pay the supermarket price! Thanks Mirjam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      I made these last fall with all the roma's I had in my garden, except I put them in the dehydrator. (Of course we ate half of them after taking them out) but we are still using them this winter in all our dishes and I can't believe the flavor that comes from them!!! These are the best thing since sliced bread! ;-) I'm planning my tomatoe crop now to do the same thing this year with cherry and roma's (I'm going to make sure my freezer is stocked with these jewels by October!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      I couldnt wait to try these, and cut small tomatos into wedges and drizzled the oil and dried herbs over the top. I put them on the tray with tongs and let them sit at the bottom of the oven while I roasted some veggies, and I drizzled the leftover oil mix over them potato and pumpkin, it was wonderful!! thank-you, first recipe in my cookbook here at zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      These are the best things since sliced bread. Wow, what incredible flavor. My freezer is now loaded with these babys. I put them in my favorite Italian pasta salad and they were a definite enhancement to the flavor. Thanks Mirj, for a wonderful and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      Wow! I made these with roma tomatoes from the garden and followed directions except I baked them for 2 hours as others suggested. When I came down in the morning I kept sampling them instead of bagging them until they were all gone! It's a good thing I have a huge tomato crop as I will be making many more batches. My taste testing wants me to try them on bruschetta, dips, foccacia, etc. etc. Many, many thanks for a superb recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      These were very good! The oven was "busy" so we put them in the dehydrator. With the doors and windows open in the house the whole neighborhood smelled so good. Of course I couldn't wait for the tomatoes to completely finish so I snuck in a taste test! What flavor! My hubby and I did about 8-10 pints and are now wondering how many will actually make it to the freezer for later use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      WOW! These were fabulous. I made them the way you said to first then I improvised and used ripe roma tomatoes and added salt and a little ceyanne to kick it up the next several times I made them and I put them in the food dehydrater instead of the oven. There wasn't any difference in the taste when using the dehydrater. So far I've just used them to snack on while watching tv, but am eager to use them in a recipe. I like to call them "Tomatoe Jerky" because they are tough and chewy. I'm going to make a batch this weekend and try packing them in olive oil and see how they turn out. Thanks for a great easy recipe. LeeAnn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Very easy and they tasted great. I had to cook on 225 for about 3 hours and then let sit overnight. They never made it to the freezer or to pack in oil. My father-in-law ate them all before I could cook with them as well. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      I made this recipe hoping to use the tomatoes in Yellow Pepper & sun dried tomato a la Tel Aviv. Let's just say that there were not too many tomatoes left for the salad. I took them out of the oven in the morning and sampled them. They were great. Then I put them on top of my cottage chees on crackers. Bursting with flavor. Then I added a few to my lettuce salad for lunch. So you can see not too many left for the original recipe, but made it anyway and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Ooh my, what a treat! I used vine-ripened Roma tomatoes, cut lengthwise into quarters, some dried ground basil and oregano, and extra garlic. They cooked for about 4 hours and then rested overnight in the oven. Some 'plumpness' still remains, but hey, I love them like that. They have just been packed in olive oil, and I plan to use a portion in my Puttanesca Pasta recipe (#62683) after they've infused the oil for a few days (if I can wait that long!). The only thing I might do differently next time is sprinkle them with Kosher salt, and let them sit for an hour before tossing in the oil, garlic and herbs and placing in the oven - my sister says it helps draw the moisture out. Thanks for a great recipe Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Dried Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.0
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    70%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites