11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great way to use up some of my bumper crop of jalapenos (only thing I got alot of out of the garden this year). I dried my for about 5 hours and then used a mincer gadget I have to pulverize them. I used the powder in hamburgers so far and they gave it a really nice kick. They'll also be good for pizza :). I was able to get about 1 1/2 small jars full of powder from about 25 jalapenos!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 October 29, 2003

Holy Smokes! And that didn't mean my kitchen's on fire.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 26, 2012

This is an amazing easy recipe to make your own chili powder/flakes! I may never purchase store-bought ever again, I had tons of hot peppers in my garden, I am so glad I noticed Rita's recipe, I think I have enough dryed chili flakes now to last me a few years lol! a word of caution, this stuff is 50 times stronger than the store-bought so use with caution! Rita thanks for sharing this recipe!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 19, 2006

Great method and superb instructions on this one, Rita. I had a bushell of hot banana peppers that I canned and froze, so I used the seeds and tops of the peppers (minus the stem)for this recipe. What a great way to use something that otherwise would have been pitched. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe. I'm looking forward to using it to dry out some cayennes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ September 19, 2006

I just love having my own pepper flakes to use all winter, what a great and easy recipe. The hardest part is cleaning and cutting them up. I used a combination of habenaro, jalapeno and banana peppers. I will be making more of this. Thank you...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio September 22, 2005

This was so easy, I never imagined drying peppers would be. I didn't have any parchment paper, so I just sprayed some no stick on a cookie sheet and it all turned out just right. I used my mini chopper also, and chopped them into fine flake/powder. I've been putting them in anything I think can use a little kick. Thanks for sharing this Rita!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd September 19, 2004

Thank you so much for a wonderful way to use all the habanero peppers I grew! What was I thinking, planting so many? Anyway, I cut them all into 1/4ths and it took maybe 4 to 5 hours to dry. Then used my mini chopper to get a jar full of very hot and fantastic habanero pepper flakes. Can't wait to try it with jalapenos too! Rita, you're the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi December 10, 2003

I recently discovered the value of this. I've done it variously with jalapenos that ripened to red, green serranos, a green Thai pepper (the skinny one about 2" long), and also a serrano that had gone to red, always air drying them over a few days. Each has a distinctive flavor, very unlike the standard flaked red pepper found in your pizza parlor. (Which makes me curious as to what kind of pepper that product is made from. Anyone know?) Lastly, DO USE GLOVES as advised. Even when these are dried, some are able to leave a residue on your fingers that soap will not effectively remove. You don't want to experience what happens then if you rub your eye. 8^) Lastly, if your batch size is pretty small, as mine tend to be, you can just mince the dried material manually. You get 100% flakes and zero powder, which to me is an advantage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John B. March 31, 2015

I dried habanero peppers, using this recipe as a guideline. My only change was to up the temp to 225*F - which sped up the process a bit.<br/><br/>I use hot peppers for pain relief, due to degenerative disc disease & I find the higher the Scoville rating (capsasums) the greater the relief. Thankfully after using this pain relief method for over a decade - I still have a cast iron gut and no ulcers. This method is NOT for everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenDemonSummoner October 09, 2013

This was so easy. Thanks, I was tiring of making relish with my abundance of peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimster11 September 30, 2012
Oven Dried Hot Peppers-Flakes or Powder