Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Dried Hot Peppers-Flakes or Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Dried Hot Peppers-Flakes or Powder

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2003

      This is a great way to use up some of my bumper crop of jalapenos (only thing I got alot of out of the garden this year). I dried my for about 5 hours and then used a mincer gadget I have to pulverize them. I used the powder in hamburgers so far and they gave it a really nice kick. They'll also be good for pizza :). I was able to get about 1 1/2 small jars full of powder from about 25 jalapenos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Holy Smokes! And that didn't mean my kitchen's on fire.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This is an amazing easy recipe to make your own chili powder/flakes! I may never purchase store-bought ever again, I had tons of hot peppers in my garden, I am so glad I noticed Rita's recipe, I think I have enough dryed chili flakes now to last me a few years lol! a word of caution, this stuff is 50 times stronger than the store-bought so use with caution! Rita thanks for sharing this recipe!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Great method and superb instructions on this one, Rita. I had a bushell of hot banana peppers that I canned and froze, so I used the seeds and tops of the peppers (minus the stem)for this recipe. What a great way to use something that otherwise would have been pitched. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe. I'm looking forward to using it to dry out some cayennes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I just love having my own pepper flakes to use all winter, what a great and easy recipe. The hardest part is cleaning and cutting them up. I used a combination of habenaro, jalapeno and banana peppers. I will be making more of this. Thank you...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      This was so easy, I never imagined drying peppers would be. I didn't have any parchment paper, so I just sprayed some no stick on a cookie sheet and it all turned out just right. I used my mini chopper also, and chopped them into fine flake/powder. I've been putting them in anything I think can use a little kick. Thanks for sharing this Rita!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Thank you so much for a wonderful way to use all the habanero peppers I grew! What was I thinking, planting so many? Anyway, I cut them all into 1/4ths and it took maybe 4 to 5 hours to dry. Then used my mini chopper to get a jar full of very hot and fantastic habanero pepper flakes. Can't wait to try it with jalapenos too! Rita, you're the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      I dried habanero peppers, using this recipe as a guideline. My only change was to up the temp to 225*F - which sped up the process a bit.<br/><br/>I use hot peppers for pain relief, due to degenerative disc disease & I find the higher the Scoville rating (capsasums) the greater the relief. Thankfully after using this pain relief method for over a decade - I still have a cast iron gut and no ulcers. This method is NOT for everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      This was so easy. Thanks, I was tiring of making relish with my abundance of peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Rita sent me some if this for Christmas and my dh has NOT stopped singing her praises yet! We have used this on everything from soups to nuts! I am just waiting for him to put it on his ice cream! lol Rita you ROCK! This is an amazing recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! We LOVE you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Dried Hot Peppers-Flakes or Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes