120 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of those recipes that actually works!!! Didn't take long to mix the flour and spices, then pop in the oven. I sprayed with olive oil spray instead of rolling in butter, and they came out so crisp. Even after being refrigerated, they were still crispy! Great/ simple recipe. Thanks for sharing :-)

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum August 07, 2011

My husband & I love wings, but I hate frying them, so we usually will go out. Previously when I have cooked wings in the oven, the skin was not crunchy, so I was a little hesitate about trying these. Well, I certainly don't have to worry anymore! We can now stay at home because I have found a keeper. These are wonderful. I went a little easy on the cayenne, but I will definitely add more the next time (and trust me, there will be a next time). When I turned the wings over, I did put them on a clean piece of foil to rid it of the remaining butter just to make sure that they would brown & get crunchy. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wanda Bonham January 28, 2010

I have never had better tasting chicken wings made at home before! They have just enough crispiness and lots of flavor. Making sure the wings are dried well is the trick. I like mine a bit hotter so I put 2 teaspoons of Hot Hungarian paprika instead of the cayenne pepper. I also increased the baking time by about 15 minutes. YUM X2

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richeyk October 01, 2011

Delicious recipe! We doubled it for the amount of chicken wings we had, used Hot Hungarian Paprika, and left the tips on the wings (personal preference), and they were delicious. The only thing we would change is to use a little less butter to coat the wings for cooking. They were nice and spicy on their own, and our friends (kids included) loved them. We'll definitely make these again - easy and delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette January 25, 2003

Works perfectly! I love when healthIer recipes taste good too! This recipe will replace our normal fried chicken. Only change I made was to omit the butter and just spray the chicken and pan with nonstick canola cooking spray. I'm confident this technique would work on bigger pieces of chicken too. Thank you for a healthier WINNING recipe, Marie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyssie71 January 15, 2012

My DH and I like to go out for wings every now and then. We don't like the expense of it, though. I loved this recipe. The only thing I did different is I sprayed the pan with butter Pam, and I sprayed the wings with it also. I made a version of buffalo sauce (butter and hot sauce) for dipping since we don't like the wings drenched in the sauce. We will be having these again. Thanks Marie for posting this simple and delicious recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin July 26, 2011

This is by far the best oven fried chicken I've ever had. Usually oven fried chicken isn't crispy in the least. Next time I will use a little less butter, maybe only 2 TBS. I think it would have been even crispier, if I'd used less butter. I didn't have any paprika, so used Gold Medal Seasoning instead. The flavors were great. Me and my family thoroughly enjoyed. No sauce needed. Will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.prothro January 17, 2011

Very good! Love the technique! My husband is not a big wing fan, but he loved these. I will add more seasonings to the flour next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ants36 June 03, 2010

Most excellent! I made dinner for 13 children and this was devoured with no complaint. It turned out nice and crispy as well as flavorful, while still being kid friendly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee August 10, 2008

These wings are outstanding! My husband said that they were the best wings he's ever eaten. I did make a couple of changes. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used sweet paprika for the paprika and spicy paprika in place of the cayenne pepper. I added a couple of dashes of granulated garlic (in addition to what the recipe called for). I cooked the wings on a cooling rack that I placed inside of a roasting pan (so the heat could circulate and crisp them better) and I cooked them about 40 minutes on the first side and about 20 minutes more when I flipped them. They were perfectly crispy (and not greasy) on the outside and very moist and tender on the inside.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda V. January 13, 2015
Oven Crisp Chicken Wings