64 Reviews

I love cooking all my bacon for the week this way. Then I put it in the fridge and microwave it when needed or throw it in quiches. Such a low mess way to make bacon perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa January 02, 2011

This was great. I just repainted my kitchen and the last thing I wanted was bacon grease flying around (not that I usually love cooking it) This is how I'll be doing it from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma June 13, 2010

This is delicious and the best bacon I have ever made. I usually just pan fried but wanted to try something that had a lot of flavor this morning and I remembered that I had saved this recipe. It really is great. I used a broiling pan that I sprayed with pan coat so that the fat drippings would drain off the bacon easily. After the ten minutes of cooking I decided to turn the oven on broil and after 2 or 3 minutes my bacon was at the desired level of cripsiness. This wil definitely be something I make often since it isn't time consuming and tastes great. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus May 02, 2010

So Good! Added allot more Brown Sugar & Black Pepper. Omitted Chili. This Bacon is Exactly like the Polo Grill of Tulsa, Ok. a 5 Star AAA Diamond Diarona Rest. I have been craving it so badly. (I moved) They serve this on sourdough with turkey,mayo, let & tom... Or if your lucky enough to work there you can sneak a piece or 2 occasionally.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpookyK November 16, 2012

I'm embarresed to say how long ago I'd saved this recipe with a note to "must try" when going through my books found it again and made it today for my DGS and friend who is visiting. Well, needless to say it is AWESOME and it will not take me long to make again. I did use the brown sugar and the spices were soooo good with just enough sweetness. As an added bonus all the bacon was ready at the same time so no one had to wait. It was so good that my very picky DGS who doesn't like any spices has requested the recipe to take home to his Mom to have her make it this way from now on. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 March 17, 2012

Very simple recipe and very good tasting.Thanks a lot rita

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TERESA L. August 24, 2010

How can you make bacon even more delicious...apparently by adding brown sugar and black pepper! (I did not have any chipotle pepper, but I would love to try that in the future.) This was just amazing! It was a good thing I only made one package of bacon, because I would not have not been able to stop eating this! Thank you so much for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea May 01, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe so much easier than frying--much less mess! So nice to be able to work on the other breakfast dishes and let the bacon pretty much take care of itself. And I like how the slices come out straight and not all curled up like when I fry in a pan. The parchment paper makes clean up a snap. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful time saver.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Puff December 12, 2009

Great way to cook bacon. It's the first time I have done it in the oven. I just used the black pepper. Will certainly repeat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 December 02, 2009

Rita, I had this recipe saved in my cookbook for like forever, and finally decided to try this, and lo and behold you are playing April Swap #15, but on a different team than me. Thus, I took it upon myself to recipenap this! Hope you don't mind. :) I only had 9 pieces of bacon. My first time using parchment paper, and I'm thrilled with the results. I didn't have chipotle pepper, and bf opted to not worry about finding a sub for it, so I used the brown sugar and black pepper. I used MORE than 2 tsps of brown sugar, probably closer to 2-3 TBSP. I kept the black pepper about what recipe states. But I didn't measure, I just sprinkled on pinches of each. Btw, in my oven at 400 F, 10 minutes was plenty and perfect, but I didn't realize this, so after I drained off the grease, after 3 more minutes, the bacon was burnt (oops!). We both still devoured it. Bf and I agree we will definitely make this again. It tasted fine burnt, luckily, but we both think it'll be better if I don't burn it next time, duh, lol! So it's in my official Tried and True cookbook. Thanks Rita! Btw, bf didn't know how many stars to give this since I burnt it; he said 4, but I give it 5, as I consider it my fault that I didn't pay more attention. It was my first oven bacon recipe, so if it's your first WATCH your bacon carefully! :) Updated to add: I made this again today, to accompany Amish Baked Oatmeal, and bf wished I had made more. He said this time, since I didn't burn it he gives this a definite 5 star-rating. Obviously this is a real keeper around here. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage April 05, 2008
Oven Cooked Bacon With Black Pepper and Brown Sugar