15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an awesome recipe. I do not clean my oven on purpose because I hate the smell of the purchased spray can cleaners. The smell of wiping the oven clean is bad enough but even after my oven is wiped clean the stench from those products linger in the house and come back out when I cook my food. The baking soda and water worked wonders although I will need to use a 2nd cleaning on parts of my oven due to my own neglect. I used this with Pricilla's Oven Rack Cleaner recipe (soaking the racks in the tub) for an all to easy, smelly free, way to clean my oven and racks. I will be cleaning my oven much more often. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 13, 2009

I'm delighted to have found this "recipe". I cannot be around strong chemical smells so most commercial oven cleaners are out. This one, while not perfect, cleaned up my oven quite nicely. This recipe is only for the oven floor, so after doing it, I made a fairly thick baking soda/water paste and globbed it on the oven walls and door, including the glass window. Left overnight, then picked up as much as possible before wiping everything down. It took awhile to get all the residue up, but all in all, I think it was worth it. On the really tough spots left, I used a soap pad. Anything left I can live with because my oven now looks SO much better than it did before. And I didn't have to put up with fumes and didn't have to be concerned about chemical burns on my hands. I'll definitely use this method again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra October 11, 2012

It worked amazingly! I used a spray bottle to wet the baking soda after covering the oven bottom. Great tip!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP May 01, 2010

This works surprisingly well and it's how I always clean my oven now. I really can't stand commercial oven cleaners and tended to avoid the chore before I found this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 03, 2008

Thanks for posting this- I hate using chemicals anywhere in the house & I needed to clean my oven for awhile now. This worked like a charm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober April 11, 2008

No fuss, no fumes and the baked-on drips from my apple pie came right off with a little "elbow grease"! The older spots from the previous owner are half off and will probably only need one more application. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom October 11, 2010

This worked great and didn't stink the place up! I am embarrassed to say I have not clean my oven in a couple years so there were just a few baked on spots that need to be retreated but the majority of the mess came right off! Will be using this again! Now, I can clean it often and not have to dread the fumes! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 30, 2010

I used a very similar method to clean my oven, based on this one. But, after looking around on the internet, I decided to make a paste of the baking soda and water instead (with some salt in it too) and spread it on the bottom of the oven. It worked great for cleaning the oven, BUT now I have spent about a day and a half trying to clean the mess I made from cleaning the oven (i.e. crumbs all over the floor and in the drawer under the oven). Maybe I did something wrong. But how the heck do you guys do this without making a huge mess?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire October 12, 2008

This is the greatest discovery! I hadn't cleaned my oven in 2 years because I didn't want to use those harsh chemicals, but after I did this and then used a kitchen pumice on the tough spots, that oven was sparkling! I will utilize this method from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose August 17, 2008

I had to re-do this a couple of times. But then, you should have seen my oven ... In my opinion, this did as good a job as any commercial cleaner. I'll use it from now on. Thanks, Chelle!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrie-pie October 24, 2005
Oven Cleaner