24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The sauce was good but too sweet for us. I followed the recipe and wish now I hadn't added all the water because the sauce was too thin, as another reviewer stated. Guess I should have taken their advice!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 February 24, 2011

To die for! This is the 3rd time I've made these ribs, and never to I faulter from the St. Louis style, even though baby backs are sometimes less expensive. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
outragis June 09, 2010

Yummy! These were very good for oven baked ribs. The meat came out very tender and the flavor of the sauce was really good. I just wonder what the 1 1/2 cups of water was for? I didn't use it, and if I had added it to the sauce the sauce would have been ruined, and never would have thickened up in the time stated. I think the recipe would be better if the water were removed. Thank you for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

I use this recipe EVERY time I cook spare ribs but I got lazy one day and used a store bought bbq sause .It was delicious and the sauce really stuck to the ribs. I cheat every time and I still get the complements without all the effort.Thanks for the wonderful method!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Debra #2 May 08, 2009

this will be the second time I have used this recipe. the sauce is great! the only thing I changed was molasses for the maple syrup. great food on a clod winters day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amicab99 December 21, 2008

I used sugar free maple syrup, but didn't change anything else. The ribs taste sweet with a kick, but it seems like they're missing something. Perhaps next time I'll use pure maple syrup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loyaltybreedsloyalty April 08, 2008

Needed a recipe for St. Louis Style Ribs and this sure was the right pick. The ribs were so tender and my husband loved the sauce. I would have liked a thicker sauce. Will use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick July 02, 2006

I have made this a number of times, now, but the secret isn't in the sauce...it is in the roasting and baking technique. I use a bottled sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's Original) and follow the rest of the process to a 'T'. The ribs come out moist, tender, and, even when I used riblets or baby backs it is AWESOME! I got the best compliment from my hubby, who isn't usually a 'rib' fan...a friend took us to a 'rib' joint a few months ago and they are touted as having "The best ribs in downstate Michigan". Well, mine are BETTER! I will never use another rib recipe, the process in the roasting and baking make them A#1! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 10, 2015

Just made this today. Like the other reviewers, I did not add the water. The sauce is excellent. My family does not like spicy foods, so I also did not add the hot sauce. I plan on using the BBQ sauce for other things- it's that good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane G. June 25, 2014

Really good ribs and easy to make, too! I did use my own sauce recipe, but the method worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks May 29, 2014
Oven Barbecued St. Louis Style Ribs