Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Barbecued St. Louis Style Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Barbecued St. Louis Style Ribs

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2011

      The sauce was good but too sweet for us. I followed the recipe and wish now I hadn't added all the water because the sauce was too thin, as another reviewer stated. Guess I should have taken their advice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      To die for! This is the 3rd time I've made these ribs, and never to I faulter from the St. Louis style, even though baby backs are sometimes less expensive. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Yummy! These were very good for oven baked ribs. The meat came out very tender and the flavor of the sauce was really good. I just wonder what the 1 1/2 cups of water was for? I didn't use it, and if I had added it to the sauce the sauce would have been ruined, and never would have thickened up in the time stated. I think the recipe would be better if the water were removed. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I use this recipe EVERY time I cook spare ribs but I got lazy one day and used a store bought bbq sause .It was delicious and the sauce really stuck to the ribs. I cheat every time and I still get the complements without all the effort.Thanks for the wonderful method!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      this will be the second time I have used this recipe. the sauce is great! the only thing I changed was molasses for the maple syrup. great food on a clod winters day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I used sugar free maple syrup, but didn't change anything else. The ribs taste sweet with a kick, but it seems like they're missing something. Perhaps next time I'll use pure maple syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      Needed a recipe for St. Louis Style Ribs and this sure was the right pick. The ribs were so tender and my husband loved the sauce. I would have liked a thicker sauce. Will use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      Just made this today. Like the other reviewers, I did not add the water. The sauce is excellent. My family does not like spicy foods, so I also did not add the hot sauce. I plan on using the BBQ sauce for other things- it's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      Really good ribs and easy to make, too! I did use my own sauce recipe, but the method worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      One of my favorite BBQ Ribs. Tangy but sweet, very well balanced. I have made it many times now and it receives rave review everytime. I do alter the recipe a little though. I put very little or no celery seed and I cut down on sugar just a tag. I also skip the hot sauce. It definitely is a recipe worth keeping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Thank goodness I found your recipe, I Googled last minute. The entire method was super easy to follow and super delicious! Everyone especially my husband loved the ribs. Would make it all over again. I had to make substitutions since I didn't have all the ingredients and it was still super delicious. Can't imagine how good it will be next time I add every ingredient listed. :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Wow, I did the sauce with just one cup of water. I followed all the instructions and it's so amazing. Is very tasteful. It was the best ribs I ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Omg is delish and well worth the time and effort involved. This is my new go-to recipe for ribs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Delicious! Loved the flavor! Family liked it too! I think I probably boiled the sauce down too far so I won't do that again but the flavor was great! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Awsome recipe. Uses simple ingredients and very easy to make,friends and family cant get enough. I dont think Ill ever use any other recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Wow.. I'm impressed with the recipe and with what folks wrote. My variations were garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and I used KC Masterpiece original bbq sauce (only I mixed in about a 1/3 cup of dry sherry, and a squirt of Sriracha hot sauce to to the bottled sauce). This was so easy and so fabulous! You will have fun making this delicious and easy rib recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      An excellent base for a recipe that produces succulent ribs.

      A few notes...... the sauce realistically takes more than an hour to do properly. Instead of celery seed, I have substituted different ingredients to varying success. Pumpkin pie seasoning adds a twist and a pinch of lime juice create a unique sauce too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I didn't have enough Worcestershire sauce and maple syrup, so used soy sauce and molasses, respectively. Also omitted the red hot sauce. The recipe was fairly easy to prepare, yet the result was relly good. Will try this with a store bought barbeque sauce, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I was feeling too lazy to fire up the grill and this recipe hit the spot. I reduced the water to 1/2 cup as well. I will make it again, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Easy to throw together, a great BBQ option when the grill is rained out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Barbecued St. Louis Style Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 192.5
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    31%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1586.5 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 40.6 g
    162%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ribs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes