40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic rice! My 8 year old son usually hates rice but he said he really liked THIS rice. (Don't tell him it has onions in it!) The rest of the family enjoyed it too. I made it just as described; it was done after 23 minutes.
Thanks for a great new and different way to make delicious rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians January 23, 2013

Simple and so good. I used butter and a medium onion. The rice was perfect. Thanks Carla :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 03, 2013

Very nice rice! I used a saucepan to saute the onions in olive oil, added all the other ingredients and when it came to a boil I put it in a 2 qt glass pan,covered it with aluminum foil and put it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350. I turned out great. We will have this again. Thanks for the recipe.<br/>Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando April 23, 2013

Loved it! No fuss way to make rice that I will make time and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli February 27, 2011

This recipe is easy and has a good taste. I reduced the liquid to 3/4 cup versus 1 cup and it was ready on time and not soupy.

For variety, next time I will dissolve bouillon cubes to make the broth, since the flavor is different & maybe even add finely chopped cilantro right before serving. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EscapistFL January 19, 2011

This rice is amazing! I never thought that rice would be so easy until I found this recipe! Thank you! It is moist and delicious and even stays moist for leftovers - unlike some rice that turns hard after the first day it is served. I will use this time and time again - and it goes with everything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Henley2010 May 25, 2010

Excellent recipe. I love the fact that you can use your homemade broth to tie in the flavours to your main meal & the rice doesn't stick to your pot this way of cooking. Great rice, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 April 25, 2010

Made omitting onion and adding garlic instead. The oven method is the only way I am successful at making rice! Turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenJenMarie March 24, 2010

9/16/08 - This was great! I was a little afraid of baking rice in the oven, but after all of the good reviews, I had to give it a try. Very tasty! Thank you for posting! Updated 12/16/09 - I made this last night using beef broth, and it is just delicious! I had forgotten how good this is and am putting it in my "definitely make again" file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea December 16, 2009
Oven Baked White Rice, Perfect Every Time!