41 Reviews

These were yummy, simple to make, and didn't make a big mess of my stove top. They tasted just the way plantains should. :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout June 17, 2008

Sometimes simplicity is best! These would be the perfect foil to a more elaborate Latin dish. Maybe as a garnish for paella? I do recommend that the plantains be allowed to blacken, and not to attempt using ordinary bananas as they are just not the same creatures. These are a little high in carbs which I try to avoid, but they do have a little fiber and just a few of these on the side as a sort of garnish would be perfect, since they have their own richness brought about from the browning/caramelizing. Made for ZWT4, team mate! Thanks for having such an easy but also "elegant in its simplicity" recipe for me to enjoy on the tour. ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 16, 2008

I feel a bit funny giving a recipe with 1 ingredient 5 stars, but why not? Moreover, you don't get more healthful than this! High in fiber, vitamins A & C and no fat! This was the first time I ever bought plantains to make. A better side dish than mashed potatoes! I'd make this again, it's so easy! I only had to turn them them once. Thanks Angela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 12, 2008

We usually have this sweet bananas fried, and though it takes longer to cook than pan-fried it's much healthier! Thanks! Made for WZT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 08, 2008

Low fat, yes. But there is definitely something to be said for preparing this dish in the traditional manner. If you are set on going low-fat, then you may like this recipe since it definitely is healthier than pan-fried. Thank you for posting, but we will be going back to the old school method for superior flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter May 25, 2008

These were fantastic---a full five stars for sure! I came across the recipe while looking for another one which uses plantains. I had never prepared them before, but they were SO easy to make in the oven, and absolutely delicious! I couldn't stop eating them straight from the pan and bought four more at the store yesterday. I will be making these often--quite possibly my new favorite snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug810 March 30, 2008

The plantains may not have been ripe enough but they just didn't have that much flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good eats girl February 18, 2008

What an excellent, easy and original side dish. The idea of using cooking spray is inspired. I shook on just a smattering of cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo October 13, 2007

Delicious and easy! I cut each plantain in half and then lengthwise into four strips. I sprayed each strip with plenty of oil on both sides as per other reviewers' suggestions and baked them for 15 minutes turning them once. Excellent and easy, healthier and not as messy as frying them in a skillet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on weekends :¬) September 14, 2007

very easy and very tasty! There's no reason to take the effort to fry them when you can make them this good baked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev September 04, 2007
Oven Baked Sweet Plantains