41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious!! I haven't had maduros since I studied abroad in Costa Rica in 2007 and was really craving them and this hit the spot! Obviously not as good as traditional ones since everything tastes better fried but really close! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee September 17, 2010

This was a great alternative to fried plantains. Next time, I plan to smash them a bit flatter when they're almost done, then finish baking. Served as a side with Cuban sandwiches and black beans. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC July 16, 2010

i give iy 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darcyw July 12, 2010

10 frickin stars!!!! I have been eating fried plantains all my life and these are so good minus the calories. I can't wait to introduce my mom to these! This is all the goodness without patting them on paper towel. I am actually very excited (so sad, lol) because I've really cut back on them but now I can have them all the time without the guilt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a June 24, 2010

Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessEntrekin May 25, 2010

Plantains are at their ripest when all of the skin is black and it almost looks as if it has gone bad. Since it is being baked, it is also good to sprinkle just a bit of salt over the plantains as this will bring out the sweetness more. I usually fry mine as is what should be done as this fruit is naturally starchy. However, I did try this recipe and it was "ok". You still get a good amount of calories from spraying both the cookie sheet and then the plantains too. I also baked mine at 400F instead of 450 as I used the ripest ones and the natural sugar would have burnt. I will stick to pan frying as this recipe just didn't have them tasting the way they should.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JEM JEM December 29, 2009

So good and so easy. Watch them because they will get burn very fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB August 06, 2009

Thank you for the recipe ... Turned out very nicely ... I like the way these turned out much better than frying. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Steph~ January 29, 2009

I love plantains - yellow ones, black ones, even green ones. So when I found this way of preparing maduros in a healthier manner I was just giddy with excitement. Prepared them this afternoon as a side for my lunch. They were beautiful to behold, a bright golden hue with some nice browning at the edges. One bite out of the pan and I was sold. Another bite... They never made it as a side as I was done with my single plantain before lunch was done cooking. Thanks Ang!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 27, 2008

These came out nice and browned with a mild sweet flavor. I enjoyed these for a afternoon snack. Thanks! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 25, 2008
Oven Baked Sweet Plantains