Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Baked Sweet Plantains Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Baked Sweet Plantains

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2008

      These were yummy, simple to make, and didn't make a big mess of my stove top. They tasted just the way plantains should. :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Sometimes simplicity is best! These would be the perfect foil to a more elaborate Latin dish. Maybe as a garnish for paella? I do recommend that the plantains be allowed to blacken, and not to attempt using ordinary bananas as they are just not the same creatures. These are a little high in carbs which I try to avoid, but they do have a little fiber and just a few of these on the side as a sort of garnish would be perfect, since they have their own richness brought about from the browning/caramelizing. Made for ZWT4, team mate! Thanks for having such an easy but also "elegant in its simplicity" recipe for me to enjoy on the tour. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I feel a bit funny giving a recipe with 1 ingredient 5 stars, but why not? Moreover, you don't get more healthful than this! High in fiber, vitamins A & C and no fat! This was the first time I ever bought plantains to make. A better side dish than mashed potatoes! I'd make this again, it's so easy! I only had to turn them them once. Thanks Angela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      We usually have this sweet bananas fried, and though it takes longer to cook than pan-fried it's much healthier! Thanks! Made for WZT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Low fat, yes. But there is definitely something to be said for preparing this dish in the traditional manner. If you are set on going low-fat, then you may like this recipe since it definitely is healthier than pan-fried. Thank you for posting, but we will be going back to the old school method for superior flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      These were fantastic---a full five stars for sure! I came across the recipe while looking for another one which uses plantains. I had never prepared them before, but they were SO easy to make in the oven, and absolutely delicious! I couldn't stop eating them straight from the pan and bought four more at the store yesterday. I will be making these often--quite possibly my new favorite snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      The plantains may not have been ripe enough but they just didn't have that much flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      What an excellent, easy and original side dish. The idea of using cooking spray is inspired. I shook on just a smattering of cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Delicious and easy! I cut each plantain in half and then lengthwise into four strips. I sprayed each strip with plenty of oil on both sides as per other reviewers' suggestions and baked them for 15 minutes turning them once. Excellent and easy, healthier and not as messy as frying them in a skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      very easy and very tasty! There's no reason to take the effort to fry them when you can make them this good baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      rock on. Don't go too skimpy on the oil. The plantains will get dry. very good though :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

    • on June 02, 2007

      I must admit, I was skeptical about baking plantains, since I had grown up eating and enjoying fried plantains. This method is delicious, though. I used olive oil instead of cooking spray, and baked in a regular baking dish with sides so that the oil wouldn't leak out. Just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I made these with our elementary student group in Costa Rica. We tossed them with cinnamon and sugar before serving. They were a HUGE hit with parents and kids alike and I had a lot of requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Try this variation: cut the plantains lenghtwise (hot dog style) fill with guava paste and cheese (mozarella). This is a colombian recipe. To serve cut in quarters. Warning: let it cool for a little bit guava paste (bocadillo) will be lava paste for the first 5 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      Absolutely amazing. I've had deep fried plantains from various places but I never even thought to bake them. Yummy and fairly healthy too! I've tried them with and without both sweet and savory seasoning and I just can't seem to come up with a combination that beats the taste of them plain. I find that with my oven 440 for 5 minutes on each side works out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Wonderful treat! I have never made them this way before! They do come out starchy though this way- which was great- they tasted like sinful french fries so i doused them in salt and dipped them in catsup! YUM! IF you want a moister plantain baked this way maybe adding some olive oil or other healthy oil or more spray? I think that would do the trick- and then I would spinkle them with cinnamon sugar instead of salt! lol Great recipe Ang! Loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      I may have pulled them out early; they were still a bit tougher and starchier than I'd like. I plan to reheat these in the microwave later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      I didn't bother to cut the plantains on the diagonal. I cut them in half crosswise then in half lengthwise. This is healthier but just as yummy as pan-fried. Plantains hold their own without a lot of other fluff and stuff (ingredients). Thanks for sharing, Ang!! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      This was the easiest method I have ever used to cook plaintains and they turned out perfectly each time. I sprinkled the plaintains with allspice, fresh ground cinnamon and a little sea salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Baked Sweet Plantains

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    72%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites