Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Baked Sweet Plantains Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Baked Sweet Plantains

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2010

      These were very good, and a nice alternative to frying in a ton of oil! I find with plantains, it's better to go by the feel as well as the color. I've bought plenty of yellow/black plantains that were still very firm, and not very sweet when cooked. It's best to make sure they're starting to feel a little soft when purchased (like a nicely ripe banana), because then never really seem to ripen/soften fully by siting out on the counter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is an EXCELLENT alternative to fried plaintains! If you have never tasted the fried version, you would not know the difference. The only difference is these are not drowning in oil (or calories)! Be sure to cook them long enough and I only flip them once about 1/2 way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Delicious! I made these and topped them with a drizzle of Sukari Sauce, for an African themed event for 2000 women. They were a HUGE hit. We served them over ice cream (it was 110 that day). The sweetness and texture of the plantain, the creaminess of the ice cream, combined with the tangy, savory sauce created an explosion of flavor and texture in your mouth.

      Savory Sauce: Equal parts sugar, balsamic vinegar, and water. Add a teaspoon or two of ginger, cinnamon, a dash or two of allspice. Boil and cook on high until reduced by half. Add a pat or two of butter at the end, which finishes the sauce with a little fat to mellow the acidity, and wow....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      I'm really into watching what I eat and that include no fried foods. This is a quick easy way to enjoy plantains! This one is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      Fast and easy and with a great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Addicting!!!!! I love them!!! They had plantains on sale @ the store 6 for $1 I figured I couldnt lose and got a few. So glad I did!!!! This recipe was very easy and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      I give it a 3. Partly because I should have let the plantain ripen more. I think the fried version would taste more authentic, but I surely enjoyed the baked version plenty and enjoyed the less amount of grease going into my body :-). I will try this one again with a ripe plantain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      This is fantastic! They come out PERFECT, actually better than the deep fried ones. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe. And, healthy on top of that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      Delicious!! I haven't had maduros since I studied abroad in Costa Rica in 2007 and was really craving them and this hit the spot! Obviously not as good as traditional ones since everything tastes better fried but really close! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      This was a great alternative to fried plantains. Next time, I plan to smash them a bit flatter when they're almost done, then finish baking. Served as a side with Cuban sandwiches and black beans. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      i give iy 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      10 frickin stars!!!! I have been eating fried plantains all my life and these are so good minus the calories. I can't wait to introduce my mom to these! This is all the goodness without patting them on paper towel. I am actually very excited (so sad, lol) because I've really cut back on them but now I can have them all the time without the guilt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Plantains are at their ripest when all of the skin is black and it almost looks as if it has gone bad. Since it is being baked, it is also good to sprinkle just a bit of salt over the plantains as this will bring out the sweetness more. I usually fry mine as is what should be done as this fruit is naturally starchy. However, I did try this recipe and it was "ok". You still get a good amount of calories from spraying both the cookie sheet and then the plantains too. I also baked mine at 400F instead of 450 as I used the ripest ones and the natural sugar would have burnt. I will stick to pan frying as this recipe just didn't have them tasting the way they should.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      So good and so easy. Watch them because they will get burn very fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Thank you for the recipe ... Turned out very nicely ... I like the way these turned out much better than frying. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I love plantains - yellow ones, black ones, even green ones. So when I found this way of preparing maduros in a healthier manner I was just giddy with excitement. Prepared them this afternoon as a side for my lunch. They were beautiful to behold, a bright golden hue with some nice browning at the edges. One bite out of the pan and I was sold. Another bite... They never made it as a side as I was done with my single plantain before lunch was done cooking. Thanks Ang!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      These came out nice and browned with a mild sweet flavor. I enjoyed these for a afternoon snack. Thanks! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Baked Sweet Plantains

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    72%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes