34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These worked great! I made them just as written and they were crunchy and the breading stayed on nicely. I served these along side some burgers and it was a very nice meal. Thank you for sharing your recipe....the method works wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 23, 2009

YUM! I have made these so many times and just realized I never reviewed them! I use a different spice mixture, so my review is for the technique, which I think is excellent. I have had no problem with the crumbs sticking. I do use half panko and half regular breadcrumbs. They get crispy and I love that they aren't fried! Kids love them too. Thanks for this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 September 30, 2008

I tried this and hated it. The bread crumbs would not stay on the rings. I will not use this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delace August 16, 2008

These were ok... the coating didn't stay on and it took FOREVER to get them crunchy like we like them. I may try them again using reviewers suggestions but won't make them again as written, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azia's Mommy August 03, 2008

Sorry, but I thought these were awful--- thin limp little rings, shrunk down to nothing, covered in a gritty coating... I had to cook the heck out of them to get "crunchy" and even then they weren't that "crunchy". I'll just save up my calories and eat some deep fried ones next time- these just weren't worth the time and effort. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandNewJen July 03, 2008

fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow May 25, 2008

Bergy, These onion rings were delicious! The best baked ones I've ever had and so easy to make. They are "extremely" hot, so I'm going to back off a little on the cayenne pepper on the next batch (only because my kids won't eat them that hot). However, even hot, hot, hot, they still have great flavor and are crunchy! 5 stars! Thank you for sharing this recipe! from smallmiracles

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smallmiracles4 March 07, 2008

These were very tasty. It's true, the panko doesn't stick to every nook and cranny of the onion ring. But using an egg in the milk mixture works wonders, and it doesn't matter if your rings aren't completely covered, because the flavor of the oven-baked onion is great on its own! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 December 29, 2007

Sorry, Bergy, but this just didn't cut it. The aroma was to die for and I was really looking forward to having some. Thought they would make a nice bed-time snack, but even DH said "they're o.k., but don't make them again". Great thought - just did't work for me. Thanks, anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 November 21, 2007
Oven Baked Onion Rings