Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Baked Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Baked Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2007

      Thank-you,they were just great!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I just made these tonight and they were delicious! I used soy milk (vegan) and they tasted wonderful. I also did as Chef PotPie did, i sprayed them lightly again before placing them in the oven. Thanks for the great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

    • on August 04, 2007

      Comfort food CAN be low fat, and this recipe proves it! We were happily amazed at the taste and texture of these onion rings! I had a huge Walla Walla Sweet, so only cut up about 1/3 of it. My slices were about 1/2-3/8" thick, and this worked out perfectly with the 30 minute cooking time. After reading the reviews here's what I did: I dipped the rings in egg substitute, then in the mixture of the plain bread crumbs - very fine, (I had NO luck with the panko sticking), packed the crumb mixture on well, plunked them down on parchment paper on a cookie sheet, and here's where I think it made a difference for the whole look and crunch, I sprayed them lightly all over with cooking spray. Husband is still raving about how great they were, and daughter's boyfriend only got to smell them cooking when he came to pick her up, so has requested them next time he's here for dinner! Another keeper and family pleaser from Bergy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I'm going to have to try this one again and re-rate it. I don't think the 3/16" is wide enough for the slices (they baked up paper thin and after only about 23 minutes- not 30). I also had a hard time getting the crumbs to stick so I think next time I'll follow the other suggestion and add an egg to the milk AND double the amt of milk. Also, I sliced up 2 medium onions per the recipe and only had room on my (huge) cookie sheet for just one of the sliced onions and barely had enough milk for even that! I guess I could make 2 batches or 2 sheet pans full. Overall...the texture was fine and the taste was really good, so it wasn't a complete failure. And like I said, I'll give this one another try sometime next month!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Really very good. My sons both complained that onion rings are supposed to be fried. They were eating them before I even got to the table and telling me how good they were before I even got any. I agree, they were good. I also mixed egg with the milk to help the bread crumbs stick. I used Italian flavored bread crumbs as this was all that I had and just mixed some cayenne pepper in with that. I think that they would have been good without the pepper also since the bread crumbs were flavored. We will definately be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Served in Menu #2431. I found that I did spray the oil on the pan and I needed to spray oil on the rings 1/2 through baking. For this reason I know it wasn`t as low in fat as the nutritional facts call for. Yes I added more but step #2 calls for it as well. BUT it is still lower then frying in it. I used sweet onions that I soaked in the milk for an hour to bring through more sweetness and crunch! So very easy and no greasy mess to clean up! Thanks bunches BERGY!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Very good. Based on other comments, I added a little bit of egg substitute to milk to help the batter stick. It took a little time to coat, but it was worth it! I will fix again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      These were good. Perhaps because we're so used to fried onion rings, they seemed to be lacking something. However, my family gobbled them up anyway! I really appreciate this make-over of a usually very unhealthy side dish. I don't think we'd make these again, but they were pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      I had a hard time getting the crumbs stick to the onions, but the taste was good. Next time I will try using egg white as suggested in some of the other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      These are brilliant, the only change I made was to use a beaten egg instead of the milk, but that was only because I had one that needed using up from another recipe. I'll be making these again, thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Very Good! I did take danlynclark's advice and added egg white (to keep recipe low-fat)to the milk mixture to help the breadcrumb mixture stick to the onions. I added italian herbs, Mrs. Dash Tomato Garlic & Basil and salt instead of the cayenne pepper. I suppose nearly anything could be added to suit one's flavor prefrence. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      These are good for a lower fat recipe. I did find that the onion rings were still limp at 30 minutes. I baked them longer to get crisp (which they did, but this made the onions themselves seem a bit dry). A little bit of the coating fell off during baking- that wasn't a big problem, but I wonder if dipping the onions into milk, then crumbs, then beaten egg, then again in crumbs, might help the coating stick better and keep the onions moister as well? I will have to try this and let you know. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Great! I've been trying to locate rings without so much grease and that would be able to bake instead of fry. I haven't tried these yet, but, will within a few days. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Baked Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    75%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 345.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites