Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven Baked Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Baked Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2001

      I was apprehensive about trying these as I thought I'd be too used to deep-fried. These were great! Next time, I'm going to try adding a bit of cornmeal with the crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      Even though I love deep-fried onion rings, they don't always agree with me. NOW I can eat as many o-rings as I want - these are great! I had Italian-flavored bread crumbs on hand so used those instead of plain and cut down a little on the salt. The cayenne pepper adds a "kick". Not a big oregano fan but this blended well with the other flavors. Thanks, Bergy (again!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2003

      Wow, these onion rings are as good as any we've ever had, really enjoyed them. they had a nice little kick to them. I followed Kat's lead and added a little cornmeal to the bread crumbs, it made them quite crunchy and delicious. Used walla Walla sweet onions, DH couldn't get enough of them and has already asked that we make them again soon. Thanks for sharing Bergy, can't figure how I left them in my cookbook for so long without trying them, now I have we will be having them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Love these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I made these with a super-healthy ingredients and they turned out great. For the coating I mixed cornmeal with a 9 grain high fibre hot cereal (in dry form). The cereal has the same texture as bread crumbs and the cornmeal made it a bit crisper. Add whatever seasoning you like to the crumb mixture...I used a poultry spice (which was a bit too salty). After slicing the onions I dipped them in egg white, covered them in the crumb mixture, and baked in the oven for 30 min at 375. There were perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Delicious onion rings. I had a problem in the prep. The crumb mixture would not stick enough to the onions. The milk seemed too thin to hold anything. So I added abou 1/2 beaten egg to the milk. I floured the onion, then dipped it in the egg/milk mixture, and then dipped it into the crumbs. This worked a lot better. Thanks for a healthy alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Excellent, used egg white and panko with walla walla sweets. Oiled a cookie sheet with grape seed oil and turned onion rings the last 5 minutes to brown on the other side. I did use only small batches of panko at a time, as soon as rings got to wet they wouldn't hold the breading. The sweets are important, also added a small amount of parmesan to breading<br/>and sprayed the tops with canolila oil before baking. Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I was doubtful about this recipe, especially after coating the rings with panko (didn't look like enough coating) BUT they were delicious. We're eating healthy and this recipe will be made again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Hubby and daughter liked! If you don't like spicy, take er easy on the cayenne!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      fail. breading didn't stick at all. ended up with shrunken bits with a touch of hard bread crumbs on top. not going to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      These worked great! I made them just as written and they were crunchy and the breading stayed on nicely. I served these along side some burgers and it was a very nice meal. Thank you for sharing your recipe....the method works wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      YUM! I have made these so many times and just realized I never reviewed them! I use a different spice mixture, so my review is for the technique, which I think is excellent. I have had no problem with the crumbs sticking. I do use half panko and half regular breadcrumbs. They get crispy and I love that they aren't fried! Kids love them too. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I tried this and hated it. The bread crumbs would not stay on the rings. I will not use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      These were ok... the coating didn't stay on and it took FOREVER to get them crunchy like we like them. I may try them again using reviewers suggestions but won't make them again as written, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Sorry, but I thought these were awful--- thin limp little rings, shrunk down to nothing, covered in a gritty coating... I had to cook the heck out of them to get "crunchy" and even then they weren't that "crunchy". I'll just save up my calories and eat some deep fried ones next time- these just weren't worth the time and effort. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

    • on March 07, 2008

      Bergy, These onion rings were delicious! The best baked ones I've ever had and so easy to make. They are "extremely" hot, so I'm going to back off a little on the cayenne pepper on the next batch (only because my kids won't eat them that hot). However, even hot, hot, hot, they still have great flavor and are crunchy! 5 stars! Thank you for sharing this recipe! from smallmiracles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      These were very tasty. It's true, the panko doesn't stick to every nook and cranny of the onion ring. But using an egg in the milk mixture works wonders, and it doesn't matter if your rings aren't completely covered, because the flavor of the oven-baked onion is great on its own! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Sorry, Bergy, but this just didn't cut it. The aroma was to die for and I was really looking forward to having some. Thought they would make a nice bed-time snack, but even DH said "they're o.k., but don't make them again". Great thought - just did't work for me. Thanks, anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Baked Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    75%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 345.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites