34 Reviews

Maine-iac, this is a great recipe and so very simple to do! I prepared this for supper Saturday night and my husband kept remarking how moist and flavorful his fish was and HE gave it 5 stars! I used a beautiful 1 1/2 lb. piece of cod and was generous with the seasonings. I was surprised just how well the mayonnaise worked at keeping the fish moist! We eat seafood alot and I know this recipe will be used often. This recipe is a keeper, Maine-iac, and is going into my State of the "Art" seafood collection!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 10, 2002

This is very good fish ! I used halibut filets. The fresh dill is abundant in my garden and I used a lot of it! The mayonaise made it moist, and I added a few onion slices for more flavor. Very Good!! Thanks for the recipe, Maine-iac!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz May 31, 2002

Wow!! What a deal. I used halibut fillets. The dill and Old Bay combined really knocked our socks off. The fillets turned our so tender and moist. Thanks Maine-iac, my family and I so enjoyed these. We salute you!!!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 16, 2002

This turned out so well. I used cod fillets. You are so right. The mayonnaise does contribute to the moistness of the fish. The lemon and Old Bay seasoning just make it lip-smackin' good. I am trying to add more fish into our diet and this is a great recipe that will show up on our table often. The whole family loved it. Thanks :D Only wish I could get real fresh fish from Maine!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower July 26, 2002

This recipe was great and I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo. Since I consider this Mayo and it gave the fish a sweet taste and the Old Bay seasoning gave it the spicy taste. Really a good recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene80 April 30, 2002

What a wonderful recipe. I used orange roughy and it turned out very moist and tender. The flavor was wonderful. I went a little light on the dill weed so I think I may increase it some more next time. Thank you for posting. I am always looking for tasty ways to prepare fish and you certainly provided a flavorful way to do this.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnn December 03, 2002

Excellent fish dish which I served with Lemony Rice Pilaf (#16512) and steamed baby carrots. I don't particularly like fish but this was really quite good. Will do this one again. I doubt that the fat content would be as low if an actual measurement of mayonnaise was included (I used about 3/4 cup) but even still the dish could probably be still considered low fat. Wonderful recipe, thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst August 02, 2002

Great fish recipe. I used roughy and catfish, dipped them in bread crumbs after mayo and baked as directed on my baking stone, flipping half way. They turned out great tasting and coating stuck on no problem.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara October 24, 2002

This was very easy to make. I used whiting, bagged frozen at Wal-Mart. It had skin that I put down in the pan, so I kinda just left it stuck to the pan. I am a big dill fan, but not so much an Old Bay fan, but it was good and my picky husband did eat it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie22 April 23, 2002

Excellent. Doesnt need another review, but I just wanted to add that I didnt have dill, so I threw in a handful of parmesan. ate with rice, and will again :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 19, 2011
Oven Baked Maine Fish