Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oven-Baked Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven-Baked Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      I have always been a breast or wing gal before but I wanted to find a good recipe to try for thigh meat. I didn't have the cayenne pepper or tumeric, used dry mustard in place of the tumeric. I did use cinnamon and think that it is essential to the wonderful taste of this recipe. I did take the skin off the chicken, saute' onions after frying the thighs, and baked in my toaster oven. My apartment smelled so delicious while this was cooking, ha, probably the whole building!! Oh, and this was so very easy to make. This was enjoyed leftover the next day (I do not eat leftover chicken usually) and lost no flavor! Thanks I'm cookin', good lookin! for posting this recipe. I will have some tumeric and cayenne next time this is made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      The chicken was juicy and the aroma was great! But when i tasted the chicken it was SO bland....i guess i was expecting to have a flavor of sweet with a little kick but was unfortunatly disappointed....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Oh wow! I really enjoyed this! Reduced the recipe to use just one thigh but otherwise followed the recipe, including the cinnamon. Baked in my toaster oven. Will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Beautiful flavour combination! I made a simple gravy using the spice mix - I started with olive oil, added lemon juice, a bit of white wine and the spices. I coated the chicken with this sauce, then poured the whole thing on top of a bread stuffing I made really quickly - olive oil, onions, garlic, parsley, white wine and a whole grain baguette cut up into bite size pieces. An outstanding one-pot meal! I served it with a cucumber raita, and that really made the dish perfect. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was made on 6/03/09 for the " Hot , Spicy, & Tasty " event in the Cooking Photo Forum. The recipe was made " sort of " like it was written, a combo of legs and thighs were used. And I didn't have the turmeric, so that was omitted. ( But the next time, I'll add it I promise. ;) ) Other than those changes, the recipe was made as written. The great spicy taste of this recipe made up for the fact that the chicken didn't get as crispy as I had hoped for. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      i didn't have any gravy in mine. the aroma was wonderful, the meat was tasty but i was hoping it to be more juicier. all in all it was a good and really easy to make

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2014

      With all these spices, one would expect a burning tongue, but that is not what you get with this dish. While spicy, it is still very mild. Both hubby and I enjoyed it. It was VERY easy to prepare and the time in the oven was just right.<br/><br/>I recommend you use skin-on thighs. The browned and spiced skin is the best part of this dish. To keep all the spices, I sauteed some vegetables in the same pan I used for the chicken. They were nicely coated in the spices which added another flavor layer to them. (I did add some garlic and a tad more oil for the veges.)<br/><br/>I think it is fairly important to keep the ratio of spices equal to the number of chicken thighs. I followed the recipe exactly, and I think the ratio of spice to chicken was about right. Be aware that the chicken will brown much more than you are used to due to the spices, so keep an eye on the pan while browning the chicken. (Mine were quite dark, but not burned when done.) I was able to brown all 4 thighs easily in my 12 inch skillet. If your pan is smaller, you may need to brown the thighs in 2 batches to get the right crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      I quadrupled this recipe, and used 8 huge chicken leg quarters. I found it delicious. I might have used a bit more salt, but other that than I loved the flavor. I served it on plain steamed rice because I got tired before cooking side dishes, but I think it would be awesome with a vegetable pilaf or something similar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I used a mixture of thighs and drumsticks and had about 10 pieces. I found that there was alot of spice leftover even though I really coated the pieces quite thickly. I liked the flavour and it was very juicy. We will make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Simple recipe. The aroma was great while it was cooking. Somehow there was not enough "oomph" once I tasted the final product. There simply was not enough flavor for me. I will try this again, though, as I believe it is good, but has so much more potential, just not sure what I will change or add. Thanks for posting, I'm cookin', good lookin'!, this is quite simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      My family loved this, absolutely no lot overs here. It is very rare I find a dish to please everyone. I did not have turmeric and substituted creole seasoning. And added a little onion powder. I added the cinnamon but just a pinch the first time but will not be afraid to add more in the future. Very good, I would give it a lot more stars then just five. I am thinking about cooking it for dinner again tomorrow :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This recipe was absolutely delicious. It was pretty easy to make and it was a nice weekday dinner. My husband loved how juicy and the different flavors in chicken. Even my 1 year old ate the chicken without complaints. She said yummy on more than one occassion. Definitely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      MMMM! I made this recipe as is, including the cinnamon. It was sooo good! The taste was reminiscent of Indian food which was awesome. :) A do over recipe! For those making it, include the cinnamon!! It really enhances the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Ok, I loved this! The flavor was delicious and the tumeric made it look so pretty. The chicken was moist and the skin was crispy. Best of all, it was super easy. One note, I forgot to add the cinnamon but I will definitely be putting this recipe into the rotation so I'll try it next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I made this tonight and it was delicious!! I used the cinnamon and it added a fabulous and interesting flavor mixed in with the other spices....I encourage you to try it!!! As I always do, I koshered the chicken by soaking the chicken in brine for about 45 minutes before cooking. That makes such a difference! Even with cooking 4 chicken leg/thigh quarters, there was a little rub left over after covering all of the pieces liberally on both sides. Since I had never made it before, I was afraid to add the rest. Now I know it would not have been overpowering. I'm considering maybe using a little more cayenne next time as we all like spicy hot around here........including my 2-year-old grandson. We didn't spoon the drippings over the chicken, as they didn't look like gravy..........just looked like drippings with spices! Has anyone ever tried thickening it up a bit with cornstarch or anything? I served this with Mediterranean couscous, steamed snap peas, and a dish we like called tomato pudding. YUM! I will DEFINITELY make this dish again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This is really good :) This will be made again,TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight, thank you for the recipe, bursting with flavor, I doubled the recipe since I had 8 thighs, there was no rub left over. I would still double the recipe next time even with 4 thighs to get the gravy. Chicken turned out tender and juicy. This is a keeper for sure. This recipe would make a great wrap. Also makes your house smell great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This was one of the most simple chicken thigh recipes I've tried and the results was delicious. I served it to my three kids and they loved the taste and overall flavor. The gray also tasted great mixed with some steamed vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      smells great and tastes great. easy to put together. Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Also want to add- we believe this is so good because it's chicken THIGHS. I don't think we'd like this with chicken breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven-Baked Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.7
     
    Calories from Fat 388
    71%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 149.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 33.5 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes