8 Reviews

Tastes nice, would probably have put a bit more spice in it just to make it more exciting but it tastes great anyway. Only thing is the rice came out a bit sticky/starchy, I dunno if that was just me not using enough water or not cooking it long enough. Would definitely make it again with some more spice and maybe added vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tombomp May 27, 2014

Great chicken and rice pilaf recipe!!! I love pine nuts, so when I saw this offered, I knew I wanted to tag it. I had a boneless/skinless chicken thigh in the freezer, but at the last minute, I had to switch to using a boneless/skinless chicken breast as the thigh had gotten freezer burned. I cut this back to serve one (which for me, it would serve me at least twice, so economical too) and omitted the sultans as I am not a fan of sweet fruit with my meats. The other change I made was to coat the chicken pieces in some seasoned flour before browning, hoping to keep it moist during baking, and it was a success. I loved the flavor from the tumeric and red onion and really loved the crunch of the toasted pine nuts. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe Noo!!! Made for PRMR Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 29, 2014

This is a very delicious chicken and rice dish. I love the flavor and color that the turmeric provides and the use of the red onion. I did use bone-in chicken thighs and I left the skin on during the cooking process to add more flavor. Served this dish with a side salad and it made a perfect meal for tonight. Made for PRMR, September, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry September 27, 2013

Very easily prepared, I did preheat the stove but realised this was just as quickly prepared on the stovetop. I omitted the sultanas, since I don't care for them, I did consider adding sauteed zucchini and although I didn't, I do think this, or similar, would be a good addition. I served this with a steamed peas and corn mix, we all very much enjoyed it and it certainly is a perfect meal to make when you don't have much time r dont feel much like cooking! Any veg dish would accompany it well. Thanks Noo, made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 17, 2012

I really loved this! I wanted something "basic" tonight, but instead I got something spectacular! What a wonderful surprise for a 30 minute meal! I just wish pine nuts were cheaper here!!! I'll definitely keep this recipe...loved the raisins. The portions are generous....I served with a salad and cut the recipe in half, and I think half would generously serve 3. But there is nothing wrong with generous portions....if DS was home, there would be nothing left! Made for PRMR....thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 26, 2010

Have no idea (& didn't care!) about howmuch 3 ounces of the raisins were, but just added probably close to 1 cup ~ What the heck, I LOVE 'EM! Went with the recipe the rest of the way, though & we had a great main course for our supper! A very nice change from all the chicken breasts I prepare! A very nice keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 18, 2009

Tasty and easy, although more colorful accents could be added. Sorry I did not have cilantro on hand for garnish, but next time I will accent with steamed broccoli. This is a pilaf for mushroom haters; I'll probably add some next time. My Le Creuset pot came in handy for this recipe. Thank you for sharing, Noo! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 13, 2009

Weeelllllll... I ummm forgot to preheat the oven so I cooked it stovetop - brought it to a boil, capped it & turned the heat to low for 20 minutes. It came out perfectly. AND, here is the best part: THE PICKY ONE went back for FOURTHS. Which means not only is this fast, easy & yummy but it will be making a regular rotation at our house. THANK YOU. Made for Aus/NZ Swap 6/09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 22, 2009
Oven-Baked Chicken Pilaf