8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I chose this recipe because of the basic ingredients and the easy instructions, and it was delicious! I did add minced garlic to the butter when I cooked the vegetables, but that's the only change I made. The dish was cheesy & creamy - in fact, without the shrimp, it would make a great rice side dish! I served this with a salad and garlic bread, and white wine. Also, it was still good as a leftover heated in the microwave. I will definitely make this again, and I may use half shrimp and half crabmeat the next time.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette January 02, 2003

Hoo-rah! This is outstanding like the title says. The seasonings in the wild rice mix are very flavor-filled. A comfort food for us for sure. The cheddar and swiss cheese combination is a good choice.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarabeth123 November 26, 2002

excellent dish! Everyone enjoyed it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tropics48 December 18, 2002

This was comfort food for me. We thought the casserole was rich and creamy, just like you said. Not real spicy as in hot, but still well seasoned. It was easy for me to make and something that I would make again. Family loved it too. I used Paulette's menu and served with salad, french bread and white wine. Superb.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynt March 05, 2003

My husband and I loved this! I used 1 lb. shrimp, 1 lb. packaged mussels, 1 can mushrooms and 1T Old Bay. Only had cheddar cheese but the flavor was still great with all the vegs in it. This is so easy and we get to eat the leftovers tonight! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasjenny October 18, 2007

Liked this casserole; however, it needs something to pop the flavors for us. Next time, I will add some garlic and Italian seasonings. Made for O is for October Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks October 16, 2007

i had printed this recipe off back in 2003 and filed it away as it sounded good.....I made it for dinner tonight and holy cow, this was Awesome! My husband devoured it and said definitely 5 of 5 stars....The only change i made is I added fresh mushrooms to the sauteed veggies and it gave it a wonderful flavor...Next time i will also do 2 pounds of shrimp. Sorry it took me 4 years to make this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekeur October 15, 2007

Excellent main dish. I must confess I ate the left overs the following night, it wasstill excellent. It's also veri filling, so don't make too much to eat beside this one. Rachel

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Katz October 16, 2003
Outstanding Shrimp Casserole