17 Reviews

I made these this morning for a group meeting of our condo club. The meeting was for 3 PM. By 3:30 there wasn't a single one left!!! Everyone went crazy over these! Several took the recipe home. They are very light and very very delicious!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeydo July 05, 2002

The taste of these rolls are absolutely delicious. A really welcome treat for when you are tired of cinnamon rolls!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
z.lazar July 04, 2002

These are wonderful orange rolls! Had my In-laws over and they really loved these rolls. It was nice to make a different kind of roll then cinnamon rolls. Thanks MizzNezz

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB April 23, 2003

These are FANTASTIC! Like other reviewers, I also used butter instead of shortening, and baked them in three round non-stick cake pans. Two words of warning - the first one is that this recipe makes a lot of rolls, so be prepared to share them! Believe me, the people you give them to will come back to you with great praise. The second word of warning is that you must get these out of the pan(s) quickly. I didn't, and they stuck (and I do mean STUCK) bigtime, even with well-greased non-stick pans. To resolve the sticking, I put the pans on the warming burner on my stove and was able to loosen them, but it was a very scary 25 minutes of getting them out without damaging them. I also made an Orange Cream Cheese frosting with 4 oz cream cheese, 4 Tbsp butter, 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 2 Tbsp fresh orange juice, 1/2 tsp orange extract and a dash of orange rind. No lemon. Being from Florida, I have to confess I used awesome 'fresh off the tree' Orlando Tangeloes, which have a very rich and sweet flavor, both in the rind and in the juice. This is a truly great recipe that I expect to make again. Thanks, MizzNezz! KK

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson February 07, 2009

Yum! Made these the night before for Christmas breakfast, then let rise and bake in the morning. A nice change from cinnamon rolls, lots of orange flavor. A microplane makes grating orange rind so quick and easy. Used butter instead of shortening, a little extra flour, and the bread machine to knead and rise. Formed 16 rolls, used a 13x9 pan. Awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 26, 2008

I made these for Christmas morning (made the dough the day before, allowed it to rise all day in the fridge, formed the rolls the night before and let them proof in the pan in the fridge overnight. They were delicious and VERY easy to make! These rolls will become a staple at our brunches. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
underthemagnolia December 25, 2007

I saw and made these from TOH and was going to post it here ... but here it is - definately a keeper. MMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie January 04, 2010

I used my KA so this really did go fast..This made made 12 breakfast size rolls in a 13x9 Pam sprayed.I liked these warmed up a bit in the microwave..Next time I will sprinkle some cinnamon over the filling,and more orange..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck December 14, 2009

Delicious! A nice alternative to cinnamon buns (although I honestly never get tired of those either....). This recipe is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quilting Shelby May 23, 2009

I added orange zest and orange juice to the glaze and added some cream cheese. This made the glaze into more of a frosting. It was delicious. These rolls are really good! I found the recipe to be very comprehensive for someone like myself who has worked very little with yeast. My BF loved these rolls. I would highly suggest this recipe! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 February 22, 2008
Outstanding Orange Rolls