Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outstanding Orange Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outstanding Orange Rolls

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2002

      I made these this morning for a group meeting of our condo club. The meeting was for 3 PM. By 3:30 there wasn't a single one left!!! Everyone went crazy over these! Several took the recipe home. They are very light and very very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      The taste of these rolls are absolutely delicious. A really welcome treat for when you are tired of cinnamon rolls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      These are wonderful orange rolls! Had my In-laws over and they really loved these rolls. It was nice to make a different kind of roll then cinnamon rolls. Thanks MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      These are FANTASTIC! Like other reviewers, I also used butter instead of shortening, and baked them in three round non-stick cake pans. Two words of warning - the first one is that this recipe makes a lot of rolls, so be prepared to share them! Believe me, the people you give them to will come back to you with great praise. The second word of warning is that you must get these out of the pan(s) quickly. I didn't, and they stuck (and I do mean STUCK) bigtime, even with well-greased non-stick pans. To resolve the sticking, I put the pans on the warming burner on my stove and was able to loosen them, but it was a very scary 25 minutes of getting them out without damaging them. I also made an Orange Cream Cheese frosting with 4 oz cream cheese, 4 Tbsp butter, 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 2 Tbsp fresh orange juice, 1/2 tsp orange extract and a dash of orange rind. No lemon. Being from Florida, I have to confess I used awesome 'fresh off the tree' Orlando Tangeloes, which have a very rich and sweet flavor, both in the rind and in the juice. This is a truly great recipe that I expect to make again. Thanks, MizzNezz! KK

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Yum! Made these the night before for Christmas breakfast, then let rise and bake in the morning. A nice change from cinnamon rolls, lots of orange flavor. A microplane makes grating orange rind so quick and easy. Used butter instead of shortening, a little extra flour, and the bread machine to knead and rise. Formed 16 rolls, used a 13x9 pan. Awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I made these for Christmas morning (made the dough the day before, allowed it to rise all day in the fridge, formed the rolls the night before and let them proof in the pan in the fridge overnight. They were delicious and VERY easy to make! These rolls will become a staple at our brunches. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I saw and made these from TOH and was going to post it here ... but here it is - definately a keeper. MMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I used my KA so this really did go fast..This made made 12 breakfast size rolls in a 13x9 Pam sprayed.I liked these warmed up a bit in the microwave..Next time I will sprinkle some cinnamon over the filling,and more orange..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Delicious! A nice alternative to cinnamon buns (although I honestly never get tired of those either....). This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I added orange zest and orange juice to the glaze and added some cream cheese. This made the glaze into more of a frosting. It was delicious. These rolls are really good! I found the recipe to be very comprehensive for someone like myself who has worked very little with yeast. My BF loved these rolls. I would highly suggest this recipe! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I made these for my family one Sunday morning and we loved them! Since it is only me, my husband, and our toddler at home we had lots of extras so I gave some to my sister in law who lives next door and her family loved them too! They were a hit all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      These are so yummy! I was really impressed. I wanted to make orange rolls and this was the first recipe I tried. I was thinking I would have to try several recipes before finding one I'd like--not the case! These are fantastic! I did not have quite enough orange rind so I added a little orange flavoring to the filling which worked fine. Warning --these are addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Excellent orange flavor and I LOVE the bread itself. It is soft, light and slightly crispy and not too chewy. PERFECT! A keeper and a nice change from cinnamon rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      These rolls are fabulous! I made them for my Real Estate partner and his roommates and they have been begging me to make them again ever since then!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This was my first attempt at making bread rolls like this, and I was very pleased with the results. I'm not really a bread maker, but these were not as difficult as I thought they would be, and the smell of these in the oven is just out of this world! I used one of those little plastic squeeze bottle for condiments to spread the glaze. However, my glaze was a little thin with only 1 cup of pwd. sugar, so I added some more. YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      MizzNezz, I really enjoyed these orange rolls for breakfast this morning! Wow, I'd love to eat another, but since I made 12 larger rolls rather than 30, I think 1 should be my limit (at least for the moment...). I had some leftover cream cheese frosting to which I added a bit of orange juice and that topped these nicely. I used 1 c soy flour and 2 1/2 c bread flour, and used light butter and part splenda in the filling to good effect. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe. I was ready for something different from cinnamon rolls, and these really hit the spot. I can see varying the filling, adding lime or lemon zest instead of orange, or flavoring with nutmeg rather than citrus. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      DEELLIICIIOUSS!! My family absolutely adores home made cinnamon rolls(cin,sugar kind) and these were right up their with our recipe for those. The rolls rose nice and high and had a wonderful taste. The filling leaked out a bit and so we had a nice crust on the bottom and the frosting was to die for! My mom who has been baking for over fifty years said "We should save that glaze recipe." The only thing I can on the lesser side is that I wish there would have been a bit more orange flavor, the lemon in the frosting shown through a bit more than the orange but that could have been my rind. This recipe is a must try for all IMHO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outstanding Orange Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.9
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    34%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 16.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 116.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes