Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Outstanding Oatmeal Bread for Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outstanding Oatmeal Bread for Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2002

      I just got a bread machine and this was the second recipe I've tried. My daughter specially requested Oatmeal bread, so I tried this recipe and it turned out beautifully. I used old-fashioned oats and used the rapid cycle. This made a nice tall tasty loaf. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      Superb bread! I followed Sage's success hints, and it turned out spectacularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      This turned out so Good. I set my Machine on the sweet setting and it turned out to be airy and golden brown. Will make this wonderful bread again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      I'm only rating this 5 stars because there is no way to give it 6! This is a wonderful recipe. I also followed Sage's advice on adding the oatmeal after the 1st Knead cycle, although I didn't catch it in time to add more on the top before it baked. I did melt the butter before adding it to the bread machine. Served it warm and it was delicious. Thank you Sage for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Top shelf bread all the way! I intended on using 1/2 whole wheat flour, but only had 1 cup of it, so used that plus 2 cups regular bread flour. I also wasn't going to be around to add the oatmeal later, so I put that on top of the flour and it baked up perfectly! No need for that extra step. Olive oil subbed nicely for the butter too. Soft insides with a crunchy crust...yum! Thanks Sage!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      This is a very good recipe! I put in 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups white bread flour and it turned out very well. It is a good sandwich texture and also will be good for toast. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2014

      Great bread, so light and fluffy. Did have to add more flour as it was very sticky. Added half of the oatmeal while kneading and half at the very end. Did it with my KA and baked for 30 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2014

      Loved this bread. Buttery flavor, soft and tender texture. Perfect for sandwiches, toast, or side w/ soup. I added the oatmeal with all the other ingredients so didn't get crunch, but that would be good, too. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      This bread turned out the best so far of what I have tried in my bread machine. Good crust and nice moist interior, dense enough, not dry and crumbly like some others. Easy to slice, works for sandwiches without falling apart. I used 1 cup wholegrain flour, 1 cup white flour. The only thing I would like to change is the honey taste, which comes through fairly strongly. Any suggestions as to how to do this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I made it half whole wheat and half white, with oil for the butter. What a great bread! Crunchy crust with soft chewy texture. Thanks - I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

    • on January 10, 2009

      I also substituted the butter with olive oil and ommited the dry milk powder, with great success. And I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Brushed with water and dusted with oats before baking, this was a true artisan loaf of bread. My new go-to oat bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was great bread. I used half whole wheat flour and half white, and substituted olive oil for the butter- it turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This bread was very good. It indeed has a very crunchy crust with a tender inside, which is just what I like. I didn't have the powdered milk, so I subbed the same amount of whey protein powder and cut down the honey to half to make it less sweet. I used half whole wheat and half white bread flour in the bread machine. I used a full packet of rapid rise yeast and the whole wheat cycle. I will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      This was delicious bread. I used the bread machine for the entire process. The only change I made was that I used 1 packet of yeast vs. 3 tsp. A packet contains 2-1/4 tsp., close enough I thought. The bread was crisp on the crust & airy inside. I love fresh bread!! We had it with BBQ chops & mashed potatoes...yum! Will be doing this one again. Thanks for posting Sage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Outstanding, just as the name implies! I put the oatmeal in at the beginning and cooked it in the bread machine. The texture is like an Artisan loaf you would buy in a bakery. Thanks Sage for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      excellent bread and very versatile: works for sandwiches or toast (especially good with a flavored cream cheese!). rises very very very high: i was alarmed at the height and punched it down. next time i will cut back on the yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      It is indeed outstanding, and one of the best breads I've ever made. I put the oats in at the beginning for convenience, and still had some whole oats visible in the bread. The texture is wonderful and the flavor is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This bread was very good. I'm a bread machine novice, only a few weeks at this. This was the first recipe that I made that wasn't from my Zo machine book. Followed the recipe, including old fashioned oats, but put the oats in the very beginning. (Was afraid I'd forget them!). My end result loaf (which rose so much it pressed against the window), was just a bit too doughy....although tasted great the next morning. Next time I make this, I'm going to add the oats in after the first knead and see if that's an improvement. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      great recipe for breadmachines,i used 1% milk 1 1/4 cup because i was out of powdered(also for the extra protein)and half whole wheat flour.I baked it in the oven at 375 for 40 minutes and it was wonderful,thanks,Mrssoupie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outstanding Oatmeal Bread for Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    15%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 9.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 470.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites