36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just got a bread machine and this was the second recipe I've tried. My daughter specially requested Oatmeal bread, so I tried this recipe and it turned out beautifully. I used old-fashioned oats and used the rapid cycle. This made a nice tall tasty loaf. Thanks for posting this!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess November 02, 2002

Superb bread! I followed Sage's success hints, and it turned out spectacularly.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren October 25, 2002

This turned out so Good. I set my Machine on the sweet setting and it turned out to be airy and golden brown. Will make this wonderful bread again. Thanks for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim1 November 04, 2002

I'm only rating this 5 stars because there is no way to give it 6! This is a wonderful recipe. I also followed Sage's advice on adding the oatmeal after the 1st Knead cycle, although I didn't catch it in time to add more on the top before it baked. I did melt the butter before adding it to the bread machine. Served it warm and it was delicious. Thank you Sage for sharing this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta November 04, 2002

Top shelf bread all the way! I intended on using 1/2 whole wheat flour, but only had 1 cup of it, so used that plus 2 cups regular bread flour. I also wasn't going to be around to add the oatmeal later, so I put that on top of the flour and it baked up perfectly! No need for that extra step. Olive oil subbed nicely for the butter too. Soft insides with a crunchy crust...yum! Thanks Sage!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick November 22, 2009

This is a very good recipe! I put in 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups white bread flour and it turned out very well. It is a good sandwich texture and also will be good for toast. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando July 07, 2003

Great bread, so light and fluffy. Did have to add more flour as it was very sticky. Added half of the oatmeal while kneading and half at the very end. Did it with my KA and baked for 30 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 03, 2014

Loved this bread. Buttery flavor, soft and tender texture. Perfect for sandwiches, toast, or side w/ soup. I added the oatmeal with all the other ingredients so didn't get crunch, but that would be good, too. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 29, 2014

This bread turned out the best so far of what I have tried in my bread machine. Good crust and nice moist interior, dense enough, not dry and crumbly like some others. Easy to slice, works for sandwiches without falling apart. I used 1 cup wholegrain flour, 1 cup white flour. The only thing I would like to change is the honey taste, which comes through fairly strongly. Any suggestions as to how to do this?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Pepper June 30, 2012

I made it half whole wheat and half white, with oil for the butter. What a great bread! Crunchy crust with soft chewy texture. Thanks - I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Criseyde'sMom November 02, 2009
Outstanding Oatmeal Bread for Bread Machine